DEV Community

Cover image for Sloan's Inbox: How Do You Find a Mentor That Is Right for You?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

Sloan's Inbox: How Do You Find a Mentor That Is Right for You?

Hey there!

I'm Sloan, your friendly neighborhood DEV Moderator, and I am back again with another Sloan's Inbox! 🦥

Think of this as your go-to place for tech advice and sharing observations. Whether it's career development, office politics, industry trends, or improving technical skills, we've got you covered. As you try to level up your skills, you can always come to us for support!

This week I found a question from a new developer that I wanted to share.

Today's question is:

Hi! I am pretty new to coding and would like to learn more from folks who have been in tech for a long time. I am struggling to find folks in my community to talk to and am thinking a mentorship program may be a good choice for me! Do you have any tips on how to find a mentor that's right for you?

Calling all mentees and mentors— do you have any expertise? Tell us your thoughts! Share your comments and questions below and let's help a fellow DEV member out.


Want to submit a question for discussion or ask for advice? Visit Sloan's Inbox! You can choose to remain anonymous.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

I never have found a mentor using a sort of service or website, but have had a lot of luck just asking more experienced teachers, TAs, or graduate students during school if they would teach me how to do a skill that they had! I remember first learning to screen-print this way! Good luck on your journey.

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

Hi,... I may also say : 😅

"Sloan's Inbox: How Do You Find a Mentor padawan That Is Right for You?"