DEV Community

Cover image for Sloan's Inbox: Considering taking a coding sabbatical...
Sloan the DEV Moderator for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

Sloan's Inbox: Considering taking a coding sabbatical...

Howdy! Sloan, DEV Moderator and resident mascot, coming back atcha with another one from the inbox... 🦥

Welcome to another installment of Sloan's Inbox, your go-to place for sharing advice and observations. Whether it's career development, office politics, industry trends, or improving technical skills, we've got you covered. Let's continue our journey of learning and growth together.

As always, I'm here to dive into your questions, comments, and thoughts. So, let's get to it!

Today's question is:

I'm at the point in my career where I'm making enough money and have leveled up to a senior position. That said, I've been on the grind for a long time and I'm starting to feel a bit burnt out on coding. I'm considering asking my manager if I can take a sabbatical — i.e. take a good chunk of time off (perhaps a couple months) to travel, relax, and recharge. I've been with the same company for nearly 5 years and they're really great. I don't intend to leave, but I need a break. I'm wondering if others think this is a reasonable request. If so, how would you approach it? If not, do you have any advice for dealing with these feelings?

Share your thoughts and lets help a fellow DEV member out! Remember to keep kind and stay classy. 💚


Want to submit a question for discussion or ask for advice? Visit Sloan's Inbox! You can choose to remain anonymous.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Honestly I say, this actually has to be a necessity, taking time off to recuperate and really charge your mental batteries so you can come back to work more motivated and refreshed. It actually depends on the type of company you work for, as some companies value their employees welfare and mental health way more than others do. I would suggest going ahead to make the request, you might probably have to negotiate the time off with them.

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

+1 to this answer

Collapse
 
nricks profile image
nricks • Edited

it's so funny I'm reading this post exactly today.

today is my last day, before taking a "sabbatical" probably till the end of the year, for the exact same reasons.

these days the only i thought I have is: if I'll feel lost and feel a lack of purpose during the time I'll spend away from everything, at the same time I rejoice since I'll be free and unaccountable for the high scale problems I've been tasked to solve in the past 4 years.

I don't know if this is something you can agree with, but as the time passed I felt like I've been listened less and less, up until the moments I was needed, but not when I was extending suggestions that would've addressed the same problems I was tasked with before their occurrence.

When I first talked to the management I simply said: "I'm out, and I don't know if I want to keep doing this even after I quit, I'll be off the radar at least till 2024" and they were the ones to come up with the idea that I should've tried taking a sabbatical first, to take care of my mental and unfortunately also my physical health.

When I started in the company I'm working for it was just me, now there is 12 people working along side me, they respected the fact that I was more than just someone that tagged along and i honestly liked it. but today is my last day :)

I don't know what it will become of me in this time, but I've high hopes. these are the thoughts I can share. good luck!

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

It's hard to say if your request for a sabbatical is appropriate as a question like that requires a lot of missing context, but what's indisputable is that you should prioritize your mental and physical health. If the company is unable to accommodate your needs, then it's time to find a new employer that meet your inner peace needs.

If I was in your shoes and I was unsure if I could request a sabbatical, what I would do:

  1. Review the employee handbook if your company has one. If none exists, inquire about the PTO and extended leave policies.
  2. Do I have any worker protections or benefits due to government regulation that would cover a sabbatical?
  3. I would assess the health of the company. If the company is all hands on deck to keep the lights on, then I would expect to encounter resistance with my request
  4. Are there others who can carry on my responsibilities while I'm gone? If the answer is no, then I would expect some resistance with the request.

One thing to keep in mind - extended leave may be a protected worker right in some regions, but that doesn't always entitle you to your full compensation while on leave. Make sure to inquire about that so you understand the implications.

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

Perfect timing I guess. I've had this in mind lately...

To continue with the discussion: For those of you who have taken a sabbatical, how things changed after it? Did you return to the same company/job/industry?

Collapse
 
devronsoft profile image
Ryan

I think it is definitely a reasonable request, especially as you're talking a couple of months (I'd ask for 3... ^_^ )

If they're a reasonably company, they'd be silly not to grant this request - considering if you did end up burning out and leaving/going on long term sick, they would be far worse off than having you out for 2-3 months.

I was in the same position as you a year ago. Except when I asked, I was given 3 months BUT I still had to work two days each week... it was just not the same as totally disconnecting and recharging for a reasonable amount of time.