DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week
Peter Kim Frank for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.

How many software developers does it take to screw in a lightbulb? The community supplied the punch line. None more enjoyed than @jackharner's contribution:

1 developer and a 3.4 Gb node_modules folder.

@steveblue offers a nice list of concerning signs in response to What are some red flags to look out for in the first few weeks of a new dev job?:

  • team members limit and dismiss tried and tested ideas
  • you’re not promptly getting paid
  • the team isn’t diverse
  • code isn’t formatted
  • code isn’t tested
  • team process is waterfall
  • scope creep is routine
  • no one cares about UX
  • you aren’t on-boarded
  • when you load the app it takes a long time to render the view ( team doesn’t care about performance )
  • no ones talking about any new projects on the horizon ( no growth )

Can you tell I’ve been a contractor? 👨‍💻

Replying to If the World Wide Web were re-created today with no legacy dependencies, how would it be different?, @stegriff chimes in with an interesting tidbit:

Tim BL always said that he regretted making URLs complicated (scheme, domains, and path) and not fully hierarchical. That if he were to get a do-over, instead of https://dev.to/ben/post we would have https/to/dev/ben/post. Just thought I'd throw that in as an interesting fact :)

I really liked this thread — What's your coding origin story? @nikolicstjepan talks about something that I'm sure a lot of fellow gamers turned programmers can relate to:

As a kid I played games on PC a lot. They (parents and the rest of the family) said that I was addicted and that being on the PC will never bring anything positive in my life. I said that I will one day earn for living using PC, they laughed...

@david_j_eddy provides their answer to What is your favorite interview question? I use this myself and it's a great way to get the conversation flowing:

"Do you have any questions for us?"

This is the gateway for me to start interviewing them. Culture, expectations, leadership principles, priorities, organization goals, etc, etc.

An interview is a two way exchange; when I'm done it feels like it as well.

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Thanks for the love!

I'd like to thank my dad for instilling in me such a dry sense of humor & my girlfriend for putting up with it.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Congrats to @jackharner , @steveblue , @stegriff , @nikolicstjepan , and @david_j_eddy for making the list this week!

Collapse
 
nikolicstjepan profile image
Nikolić Stjepan

thanks