DEV Community πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’»

DEV Community πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» is a community of 967,911 amazing developers

We're a place where coders share, stay up-to-date and grow their careers.

Create account Log in
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What are some of the biggest software mistakes and tradeoffs you’ve encountered? Answer to be featured on our podcast 🎧

The DevDiscuss Podcast begins with an interview and ends with commentary from listeners β€” and we like to feature the actual voices from our community!

To inform an upcoming episode of the show, we'd like to know...

What are some of the biggest software mistakes and tradeoffs you’ve encountered?

For your chance to hear your actual comments on an upcoming episode, answer the question above by:

  • Calling our Google Voice at +1 (929)500-1513 and leave a message πŸ“ž

  • Sending a voice memo to pod@dev.to πŸŽ™

  • OR, leaving a comment here (we'll read your response aloud for you) πŸ—£

Please send in your recordings by Wednesday, September 8th at 1 PM, ET (5 PM UTC, 10 AM PT)

Voice recordings will be given priority placement πŸ˜‰

Catch up on recent episodes of the show here πŸ‘€

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
craignicol profile image
Craig Nicol (he/him)

I worked on a networked application many years ago that we'd inherited from a well known IT consultancy. It involved getting case information to case workers so they could process applications and discharges.

Every action on the case sent the entire case file to the server, and back again.

And every request had the case in binary format and in the raw active record encoded in XML, so for each of the 300 staff, they were transferring 0.5Gb of data on every key press (and a lot more for searching).

The IT admin was constantly fighting network issues until we got a chance to rewrite it.

🌚 Browsing with dark mode makes you a better developer.

It's a scientific fact.