DEV Community

Cover image for What have you learned through #WeCoded?
Erin Bensinger for The DEV Team

Posted on

What have you learned through #WeCoded?

As our #WeCoded celebration comes to a close, I wanted to take some time to reflect on the stories, experiences, and learnings that our community has shared over the past week.

Here's mine: even though I don't read or speak Brazilian Portuguese (PT-BR), with the help of Google Translate, I enjoyed reading this article from @vanessatelles:

It made me think about my own career trajectory and opportunities, which I shared in Google-Translated PT-BR:

Adorei ler esta história! Eu também costumava brincar com HTML e CSS no Neopets quando criança, lembro de me divertir muito com fundos de azulejos e cursores brilhantes, haha. Eu definitivamente tive um perfil temático da Avril Lavigne em algum momento 😂

Isso me faz sentir agridoce embora! Quando menina, meu interesse por programação não era apoiado pelos adultos e acabei seguindo um caminho diferente. Às vezes penso em como minha vida seria diferente se eu tivesse continuado estudando e construindo com HTML e CSS.

PS, sou falante de inglês (e espanhol, jaja) e usei o Google Tradutor para traduzir para PT-BR, então peço desculpas por qualquer bobagem gramatical 😁

Ok, your turn! What's something you learned through #WeCoded on DEV?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

I learned that we still have a long way to go in regards to making the tech industry more inclusive for women and non-binary people.

Collapse
 
webdev-mohdamir profile image
Mohd Amir

As someone who's just starting out in coding, I appreciate the encouragement to share my journey. It's inspiring to know that there's a supportive community out there, ready to uplift and learn together. #wecoded