DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Heyo ๐Ÿ‘‹

Hope that everybody is enjoying their weekend. ๐Ÿ™Œ

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count โ€” big or small ๐ŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Playing games with friends ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐ŸŽฎ

Two dudes dressed up as Mario and Luigi. They're racing around a shopping center (possibly a grocery store) in motorized shopping cart scooters. The one dressed as Mario throws a banana and Luigi runs over it, his cart swerves out of control, and Mario fist pumps in celebration.


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! ๐Ÿ’Œ

Top comments (35)

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

Hey all, just popping in as I often do on Fridays to celebrate some community achievements from last week's thread.๐ŸŒŸ Huge congrats to @integerman for the release of 'Refactoring with C#' (and extra applause for the upcoming 'Data Science in .NET' with Packt)! Shoutout to @akashdev23 for hitting 800 followers; a hearty congratulations to @mellen for conquering NaNoWriMo with 50,000 words; and kudos to @steelwolf180 for securing a contract with AirBus! ๐ŸŽ‰ Your wins make the DEV community shine. Keep 'em coming, please!

Collapse
 
akashdev23 profile image
Akash Dev • Edited

Thank you so much โค๏ธ

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*ยฐโ€ข.ยธโ˜†

Congratulations everybody! Well done! ๐ŸŽŠ

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*ยฐโ€ข.ยธโ˜†

๐Ÿ“ฐ I published a post on the DEV community! โœจ


๐Ÿงต My post "Is Shorter Code, Better Code?" got a mention in This Week's Hottest Discussions in the DEV Community Newsletter! โœจ

My post's mention in the DEV community newsletter
๐Ÿ’ก I have built several games with my Electronic Games Advent Calendar! โœจ My Electronic Games Advent Calendar with my first game

One of my games is Slot Machine! 3 lights flash rapidly. Interrupt the flashing of the LEDs by pressing the button so that all three LEDs glow at the same time (the button works like a dice). When you have managed to do that, you have won the jackpot! ๐ŸŽฐ
One of the electronic games which I built
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•

That's cool ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*ยฐโ€ข.ยธโ˜†

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š I am happy you like it!

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

I really liked the retro vibe of your calendar!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*ยฐโ€ข.ยธโ˜†

It is awesome! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya • Edited

Made a couple of programs in x86_64 assembly ๐Ÿ˜€

Hello world is so weird:

section       .text                     ; declare the .text section (where all of the code goes)
global        _start                    ; declare the entry point (_start)
_start:                                 ; define the entry point
    mov edx, msglen                     ; "invoke" the length of the message
    mov ecx, msg                        ; "invoke" the message

    mov ebx, 1                          ; set the file descriptor (fd) to stdout

    mov eax, 4                          ; system call for "write"
    int 0x80                            ; call the kernel

    mov eax, 1                          ; system call for "exit"
    int 0x80                            ; call the kernel (exit the program)

section       .data                     ; data section, where variables are declared
    msg       db "Hello, World!", 0xa   ; set the message to "Hello, World!". db means "data byte", and 0xa is a newline character
    msglen    equ $ - msg               ; the size of the message
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Edit: I think that's actually 32-bit Assembly. I found another way and some good explanations.

Collapse
 
abbeycity500 profile image
Arowolo Wahab Abiodun

Reflecting on the week, I'm appreciative of the progress and opportunities, even if there isn't a specific win in mind. I'm continuously working towards positive outcomes. How about sharing your highlights from the week

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I have a big one and a more ongoing one. The ongoing one is that sales for Refactoring with C# seem to be doing well and an article I wrote last Friday on Semantic Kernel really took off (though less so on dev, but that's okay, these things can be random).

The big one is that I was approved this week as a writer for FreeCodeCamp, so I can now send them more in-depth articles or even mini-books and get them in front of a lot of people!

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I completed my nonodegree in iOS Development from Udacity! Here's my certificate...
Image description

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
abbeycity500 profile image
Arowolo Wahab Abiodun

Congratulations

Collapse
 
jorensm profile image
JorensM

I'm almost done with my small browser game!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Dope! What kinda game you working on?

Collapse
 
jorensm profile image
JorensM

My Little Plant. Basically all you have to do is water a plant and watch it grow. I'll be releasing an update sometime next week that will add a few new plants and make the game at least somewhat playable

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo cool! That's lovely.

You know, I think combining something like this with a widget on an iPad could be really cool!

Like if you could open your iPad and see the plant amongst your other app icons... you could tell it was dry and that you need to open it up and water it. Maybe it could also tell what time of year it is and make the plant have different conditions based upon that.

All this said, I like your game how it is. Pixel art is awesome and there's a simplicity to it that feels very zen.

Thread Thread
 
jorensm profile image
JorensM

Thanks, appreciate it! And that's actually a great idea! I was considering porting the game to mobile, might do something like what you suggested!

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No probs!

I hope you consider writing a post about it if you keep up with the development of it. As an app, I really think it's got some potential! Pixel art is super cool and there's a scene of enthusiasts for it.

Lemme know if you release it on mobile or for tablet (I got an Android + iPad โ€” a hybrid setup) and I'll check it out.

Thread Thread
 
jorensm profile image
JorensM

Thanks, would mean a lot to me! I'm doing a devlog on Itch but I might make a post here as well about the architecture design of the game.

Collapse
 
juansecu profile image
Juansecu

I was able to replace the HDD of my old laptop for a SSD.

I'm really proud of it because I cannot tolerate slow computers nowadays, and that laptop requested this upgrade some years ago.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice on!! Replacing parts in a laptop can be kind of a pain. Good stuff and hope the newly improved machine is treating ya well!

Collapse
 
juansecu profile image
Juansecu

It is! UI from Windows is now more fluid than before changing the drive. I'm gonna suffer less thanks to it.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

I've learned to care to not to care. Sometimes the stress and headache isn't even worth it. I'll save that for "win" it matters.

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai • Edited

Sometimes the stress and headache isn't even worth it.

Stress and headaches are never worth it. I'm glad that you learned to not to care.

Collapse
 
matib profile image
Mati B
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow! Major congrats, Mati. Looks very well written too. Appreciate ya sharing.

Collapse
 
matib profile image
Mati B

Thanks Michael! Looking forward to writing my second one now.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! I'll be on the lookout for it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

Ha Ha, for me. I was able to sleep more than 6 hours this Saturday.
It's been a wild week for me. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha!! Oh no doubt. Sounds like you've been burning it at both ends. Hope the catch-up in sleep has you feeling nice and refreshed for the week ahead.

Collapse
 
akashdev23 profile image
Akash Dev

Nothing really happened this week. Preparing for my tests.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sometimes nothing happening is the best thing that can happen. Good luck on your tests, hope the prep went well!

Collapse
 
ezengold profile image
EZECKIEL NOUDEGBESSI

I posted an article about an approach to monitor uploads in background threads in an iOS swift app. Right here medium.com/@ezengold/swift-aws-an-...