DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Meeting someone new on DEV or CodeNewbie Community... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Happy Friday

Earth hugging a heart

Top comments (49)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I got my first PR merged at Netlify!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

🎉 🎉 🎉

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker
Collapse
 
wiseai profile image
Mahmoud Harmouch

Me IRL at ethereum org:

ethereum

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Congrats!

Collapse
 
w3ndo profile image
Patrick Wendo

🔥🔥🔥🔥

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

Congrats 👏

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

My major success this week was shipping a change to the DEV feed. Right now it's doing the same thing it did before the change, but the change makes future changes way easier. Which should help us continue to improve the "Relevant" feed as well as be transparent about what goes into the "Relevant" feed.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

👏

Collapse
 
miguelmj profile image
MiguelMJ

So happy to hear that! I'll postpone my article about why browsing Latest instead of Relevant gives you more actually relevant content xP

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

No need to postpone it; it's going to be a bit of iterating to improve the "Relevant" feed.

If you do post it, please ping me. I have a post that I'm kicking around documenting how we build the feed query.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad
  • I finally launched my first product, after 2 years of thinking about developing a product. TemplatesKart
  • I also wrote a blog post about my product Post
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Jake Peralta from Brooklyn Nine Nine saying Hella Fresh!

Collapse
 
glochain profile image
Gloria

Congratulations

Collapse
 
valentinesean22 profile image
Valentine Sean Chanengeta

I started learning Redis and managed to solve some tricky bugs

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

congrats!

Collapse
 
codewander profile image
codewander

Dealing with a bunch of aging parent issues, so that I can get back to focusing on job search.

Collapse
 
biomathcode profile image
Pratik sharma • Edited

Best of luck, buddy !!

Collapse
 
yactouat profile image
yactouat

hang in there and wish you and your parents well

Collapse
 
cerchie profile image
Lucia Cerchie

I got a new badge! Beloved Comment, for this comment here dev.to/cerchie/comment/1nlf6
Basically, I struggled with git cherry-pick so I made a tutorial on it. github.com/Cerchie/git-cherry-pick...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Noice!

Noice!

Collapse
 
wiseai profile image
Mahmoud Harmouch

Being consistent at writing(at least one holy post per week) is kind of my most incredible win so far. Writing about numbers, and I am not trying to flex, but in a span of one week or so, I was able to generate a hell amount of traffic, and I am only two weeks in. But, thinking about this number makes me feel anxious.

holy molly

Anywho, Keep up the grind, folks! Remember to express your authentic self and stick to the schedule!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Let's go!

A kid twirling in a cowboy outfit firing pistols that are their fingers

Collapse
 
gass profile image
Gass • Edited

Wrote my first post in dev.to dev.to/gass/fun-coding-start-multi...

Collapse
 
biomathcode profile image
Pratik sharma

Congrats

Collapse
 
kira272921 profile image
Kira

I and @avneesh0612 have launched a new product this week, faucetli which was the #5 product of the day. 2 days later it was featured on TL;DR crypto newsletter.

producthunt.com/posts/faucetli

Collapse
 
jonaspetri profile image
Jonas Petri

I rewrote my Chrome extension that I’m working on completely, and optimised it a lot! It did break one feature though 😂

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

200K total post views on dev.to but still not monetized 😐

Collapse
 
biomathcode profile image
Pratik sharma

Hey, you should give hashnode a try. I didn't know you can monetize on dev.to ..

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

In case you were wondering about monetization: dev.to/devteam/dev-is-now-web-mone...

Thread Thread
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

yes, but uphold isn't available in my country

Thread Thread
 
biomathcode profile image
Pratik sharma

Same it wouldn't let me add my bank account!

Collapse
 
yactouat profile image
yactouat

I learned to do CRUD operations with the Google Sheets API (so I can hack on my own cheap clunky AirTable-like taylor-made app') ^^

Collapse
 
biomathcode profile image
Pratik sharma

USING GOOGLE SHEET AS A DATABASE. WAOH!!

Collapse
 
yactouat profile image
yactouat

yay ! it's pretty cool when you dont need a fancy db, for a small app for instance; so if you persist and access data that way, just be mindful of the fact that if a lot of human users interact with your sheet, your program is bound to be more complex with tons of validations and checks... but if the sheet is not editable by a lot of people, it serves a lot of use cases, proof of concept here => github.com/yactouat/sample_php_goo...

Collapse
 
lucassperez profile image
Lucas Perez

Made some changes to our CI with a new job to automate a few things that also integrates with a bot that messages our team on specific occasions.

I know it sounds vague, but it is very product specific. Anyways, Gitlab CI is just awesome and it was a lot of fun writing the scripts and all. 😁

Collapse
 
xarop_pa_toss profile image
Ricardo Giro

I finished Edube's entry level Python course with 94% on the final test... Still need to take the exam 🙃

Also completed around 30 different Python exercises to practice!
Have a good weekend

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

Waking up early every morning

Collapse
 
odysseaspapadimas profile image
Odysseas Papadimas

As a uni student still living with my mother, I find it extremely hard to wake up early when I don't have any urgent obligations