DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Enjoying the outdoors... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Have a wonderful weekend!

Man flying with the caption "winning"

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

12,000 readers on my articles 😎💪🎉🤗

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Biiiiiig congrats thomas

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Thx mate :)

Collapse
 
theimpulson profile image
Aayush Gupta • Edited

One of my Android projects required me to write custom Gradle tasks which turned out to be quite messy for me due to lack of knowledge with the build system, leading me to learn a lot on how it works. I ultimately found the fix was really simple but I felt good on learning the new things.

While working on an another project, I thought I could improve the existing logic by abstracting the logic a bit more using dependency injection. This lead me to learn fragment constructor injection using Hilt but ultimately I felt it was over-engineering and backed off.

Both situations allowed me to learn a lot more this week and I feel more confident that I know my tools better now.

Now gonna enjoy my weekend by playing COD 2019. Have a nice weekend as well everyone.

Collapse
 
horrorofpartybeach profile image
Emma

I had my 1 month review in my new job and it went really well, despite a very rough start. I had a family bereavement just after I started and it's made it difficult for me to settle in. I was a bit worried the feedback wouldn't be good but they were very understanding and recognised the things that I've achieved.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. Glad you landed somewhere that's supporting you.

Collapse
 
horrorofpartybeach profile image
Emma

Thanks Gracie, I really appreciate that :)

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Finally got around to moving my tomato plants out of their pots and into the ground :~)

Collapse
 
redhap profile image
HAP

I bought my dream car: Shelby Cobra GT500

not my actual car, I haven't taken any pix yet

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

wooooh

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

One of the 7 authors of the week 🥳

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

congratulations

Collapse
 
kithminiii profile image
Kithmini

Completed another CS50 program by University of Harvard.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

wonderful, keep it up

Collapse
 
perssondennis profile image
Dennis Persson

Got a new likes/views ratio record on my new article with 10 tips on how to increase readers here on DEV.

Turns out people enjoyed the article a lot! 🥳

Collapse
 
jonbaldie profile image
Jonathan Baldie

Got my first beta reader for my upcoming book on leadership in software development! Took me about six months to finish this draft so it's great to get people reading it.

P.S. I'm looking for more beta readers if any developers fancy reading an early version! 😉

Collapse
 
marinsborg profile image
Marinsborg.com

We started a new site this week with the idea of teaching programming and talking about experiences of working as developers and QA automation engineers. We prepared and designed everything for about a month.
And this week we went public and we already got our first subscribers to our newsletter.

We are really proud and happy. We are enthusiastic about the future and have many ideas that we want to make. This week was really successful! And I hope that in six months I will have the same spirit and motivation about it.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font • Edited

My friends and I decided to share our pet project with the world in the form of a promotional content just to see what people come up with using it. dev.to/frankfont/win-a-25-amazon-g...

Collapse
 
tnir profile image
T "@tnir" N

🪨 Removing Bootstrap 3 from another legacy site as same as 5 years ago when I started my DEV account: github.com/rubygems/bundler-site/p...

I would have imagined if I am doing this in 2022... Next week I hope I remove Boostrap 4.6 by replacing it with Bootstrap 5.1 or 5.2-beta 🚀 🚀 🚀 🚀 🚀

Collapse
 
aishanipach profile image
Aishanii

Going strong with my #30DaysofJavascript challenge, now I have decided to curate resources for javascript beginners.

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/aishanipachauri_javascript-beginners-javascript-activity-6951244150830690304-Iila?utm_source=linkedin_share&utm_medium=member_desktop_web

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens
  • Made a great Story Telling speech around graphatascience and team collaboration
  • We open sourced a SDK at opt-nc :

GitHub logo opt-nc / phonenumber-validator

SDK java permettant de valider et qualifier un numéro de téléphone calédonien.

semantic-release 🪶 Java CI with Maven

phonenumber-validator

SDK Java permettant de valider, qualifier un numéro de téléphone calédonien.

⬇️ Import de la dépendance publique

Cette dépendance est disponible publiquement via Jitpack.

🪶 Maven

Ajouter la repo Jitpack :

<repositories>
  <repository>
    <id>jitpack.io</id>
    <url>https://jitpack.io</url>
  </repository>
</repositories>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Puis la dépendance :

<dependency>
  <groupId>com.github.opt-nc</groupId>
  <artifactId>phonenumber-validator</artifactId>
  <version>Tag</version>
</dependency>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

🐘 Gradle

Ajouter la repo :

allprojects {
  repositories {
            ...
  maven { url 'https://jitpack.io' }
        }
}

Puis la dépendance :

dependencies {
  implementation 'com.github.opt-nc:phonenumber-validator:Tag'
}

✍️ Exemples de code

Plusieurs exemples sont disponibles dans la classe Main du projet. Pour lancer l'exemple:

mvn clean package
java -jar target/phonenumber-validator-1.0.0.jar
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

La classe utilitaire PhoneNumberValidator ne prend en entrée que des chaines de caractères respectant la norme E.164, i.e de…

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

I had not written here since almost one year

... and today I completed two drafts 🎉