DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on your week, what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Trying out a fun new activity... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

Astronaut striking a victory pose

Top comments (37)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

3 weeks in the new job 🙌

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Huge congrats, Andrew! Exciting time that's also tiring I'm sure. Enjoy the weekend :)

Collapse
 
ali_ah profile image
Ali Ahmad

I wish you success

Collapse
 
daweet profile image
Numbnut • Edited

I finally published my own js library, with one way binding and components, and wrote a semi successful post on it! :)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

I put together enough blog ideas for the next 20 years (yup, over 1000 blog post ideas!).

Oh and obviously I was honoured to get a top 7 post awarded by the DEV team, so thank you for that!

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

That's a lot! Would be nice if you wrote a post about that

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Thanks, I now have 1001 posts 😜

I am hoping to release a series all around blogging and putting systems in place to write consistently (as I am so random at the moment!).

I may open the series with that if you would find it useful?!

Thread Thread
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

That would be awesome, even I am so messy!

Collapse
 
ryencode profile image
Ryan Brown • Edited

Using the BroadcastChannel api to link actions of two open windows/tabs of an interface to allow uses to view time differentiated versions of the same data set.

  • DevExtreme dxDataGrid
  • Scroll here, it scrolls there
  • Filter/Sort here, matches over there
  • Change hierarchy here, same action over there
  • Paging... you get the idea.

Kudos to my wife for suggesting the idea!

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

I'm very happy I finally released the modern clean architecture project. It aims to significantly reduce the effort to build a clean architecture in a Spring Boot environment.

Collapse
 
amanchourasia profile image
Aman Chourasia

I started my journey in c++ programming :)

Collapse
 
nevkatz profile image
Nevin Katz

Thanks for asking. This week I was able to update 24 websites from Drupal 8 to Drupal 9 in our staging environment's multisite system. It involved upgrading one codebase and 24 databases.

Collapse
 
woshimbo profile image
Woshimbo

Finding a book for free, which is "Begin to Code with Python" along with other useful books in the "free bin" section after being unable to find anything in the computer section at a book store. Hahaha, also..

Having a simple program work, even though it created many more things to investigate and expand upon. So, yay for progress!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I got invited to speak at a conference 🥳

Collapse
 
erikpischel profile image
Erik Pischel

Deployed a Spring Boot app to our companys private Cloud Foundry instance for the first time. Added a MySQL DB and Spring Boot magically switched to it from the in-memory H2 DB. Hibernate created the database tables. Magic! Even managed to connect to the MySQL DB instance with DBeaver (DB Tool).

Collapse
 
cerchie profile image
Lucia Cerchie
Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Awesome!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I just crossed the 100 sub mark on YouTube!

m.youtube.com/channel/UChoRUssc5Ho...

Collapse
 
nuestman profile image
Numan Usman

I just became your 103rd subscriber.

Collapse
 
silviaespanagil profile image
Silvia España Gil

Started a technical test and learned Axios!

Collapse
 
dak425 profile image
Donald Feury

Started taking notes I had stored up in Obsidian and writing daily blog posts from them. Currently working through my MongoDB knowledge base. Here is the summary post that will link to all the other posts

The posts will all be fairly short and focused on accomplishing one task. The notes are loosely based on this style of note taking.

Collapse
 
0xjepsen profile image
Waylon Jepsen

One win for me is that I am submitting my first paper to an academic journal soon! Very excited I hope it gets approved!