DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee Subscriber for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Finally finding the remote control after days of searching 📺

homer praying to find remote control

Happy Friday!

Top comments (37)

Collapse
 
ravixalgorithm profile image
Mr. Algorithm

This week was one of the most thrilling for me,

  • started my open-source contribution journey
  • I completed the Python basics
  • participated in Wix Studio #devchallenge

Loving this community ♥

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Nice!

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Nice.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I crossed $1k in sales for my Terraform eBook 🥳

Image description

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Ran a 5k yesterday without dying :D

Also finally deployed a big DB migration I've been working on for months!!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

👏 👏 👏

Collapse
 
ravixalgorithm profile image
Mr. Algorithm

impressive

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

What's 5k ? What about DB migrations ?

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

5km run - this was a migration of DB stack, long story :D

Thread Thread
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

OK. OK it is running race for nurturing body. 5Km. DB Stack is for what ? Do you want to replicate MySQL/MariaDB/PostGreSQL ?

Thread Thread
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Essentially a zero-downtime migration from 1 DB cluster to another. Won't go into specifics as it's all internal stuff but was made way more complicated due to various internal constraints.

Thread Thread
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Right.

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

I built a full locally & open source AI based semantic router, sorting topics within less than 10ms, on Kaggle :

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Finally modded my keyboard to improve the sound, and even managed to both write a blog about it (and feel good enough to hit publish!)

And... After nearly 18 months of sick leave, I was well enough to brainstorm with a colleague that I have really missed working with 😍

Collapse
 
rhizene profile image
rhizene
  • wasnt much but I finally posted something!
  • hundreds followed after that post.. please do not have pitchforks, feedbacks are appreciated though
  • felt content with current portfolio status, will take a breather
Collapse
 
litlyx profile image
Antonio | CEO at Litlyx.com

This week was cool but can be better:

  • I Had two new introduction to VC's in Italy, pretty raugh time. Fundraising is hard.
  • We are getting near 200 Stars on Github -- Please help ❤️
  • Trying to figure out better SEO optimizations
  • Working on a new Documentation explaining our product
  • Working on new Design for my App

That's it! We will see in the next weekly post.
Love from Italy.

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Congrats!

Collapse
 
ppaanngggg profile image
ppaanngggg

I added a blog for my webapp

Collapse
 
smits profile image
SmitS • Edited
  1. Read a novel "The midnight library"
    here's the quote that I liked

    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see - Thoreau

  2. started cleaning up the inbox of one of my Gmail accounts.

    • I looked at the number 27k, it stressed me out. I'm down to 7k now. and aiming to clean up further by next few weeks.
  3. installed the brave browser to fight the YouTube addiction.

  4. spend some time on online courses.

  5. fixed couple of bugs on one of my personal project.

things I learnt this week (bash on it!):

  • database
    • column orders matters when creating indexing.
    • create a view if joins are being used a lot to improve the performance.
  • dotnet core
    • use user secrets with combination of env variable and digital lockers to secure connection string.
    • take extreme care of nullable and use null-forgiving (= null!) only when you're sure the value ought to be initialized later. (and there are other checks in place, like database constraints)
    • use query tags, parameter and PII loggings on local/dev for debugging.
    • use AsNoChangeTracking() for queries that are not going to be modified.
    • use non-blocking fetch for collecting data in a asynchronous stream when downloading big chunk of data.
Collapse
 
jofisaes profile image
João Esperancinha

I completed a video series about using Insomnia and Inso in an open-source way. That was a lot of work totaling 70 one-minute short YouTube videos with the source code and instructions on how to the project that it implements.

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira • Edited

This week I started a new project of scheduling activities in a cat cafe and I customized my ZSH terminal with a new theme, font, and additional plugins.

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Wow, good. What's ZSH terminal ?

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

ZSH is a command interpreter like bash. I plan to write a little about him soon

Collapse
 
dailydev profile image
Aditya Gupta • Edited
  • Got 9.15 GPA on scale of 10 in my clg this sem🚀🚀
  • And published my submission for my third wix challenge WiX Challenge 🚀
Collapse
 
billsoumakis profile image
Vasilis Soumakis

I created my first open source project on Github for introducing the necessary functional programming monads and utilities in Java.
Zero dependencies library and latest JDK.
FunctionalUtils

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I've finished a 4th week on my website recallit without getting burnt out

this week i added pdf support so that users can input notes as pdfs and transform it into a personalised learning assessment

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

Wow ! I don't understand for pdfs. How is that possible ? Is that by AI and ML ?

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

i just parse the pdf with a few simple lines of js
and comparing ur spoken knowledge with the pdf is ai

Collapse
 
kalkwst profile image
Kostas Kalafatis

I earned my Docker badge here on dev.to this week!