DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Happy Friday!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Landing a new job
  • Spending time outside ... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Happy Friday!

Weekend dog on the beach

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
gedalyakrycer profile image
Gedalya Krycer

Some wins :)

  • Learned some more about Gatsby and Gatsby cloud. Looking forward to taking a full course on these services and doing a project using them!

  • My portfolio post got a React badge and lovely feedback from the DEV community. Putting my work "out there" was kind of scary, but everyone is really kind and constructive in their feedback. Can't wait to start implementing some of the advice/suggestion shared on it.

Collapse
 
avalai profile image
Marina

My partner and I started going for a walk every morning before work, from 10-30 minutes depending on the weather.

Also over the weekend we successfully adjusted our sleep cycle for the daylight savings time change, so started the week off well.

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

I contributed to forem and it was great experience to contribute to the the platform that gives me stage to share my blog.

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

I was going to share this last week...

I finished manually auditing 1.1K backlogged GitHub Issues for Mailspring, migrating the viable ones to a new Discourse-based issue tracking setup.

Collapse
 
lornasw93 profile image
Lorna Watson

Started looking for mentees this week, 2 confirmed and 1 maybe! Super proud 🎉

Collapse
 
philmillman profile image
Phil Miller

Helped launched a multiplatform audio chat demo app, and shared how everyone can do it too in this post: dev.to/trydaily/build-a-multi-plat... 🎉

Collapse
 
mcastellin profile image
Manuel Castellin

After 3+ months between a relocation and having to work overtime, I finally decided to focus on the things I love (at least for a little while):

  • Made time to record another tutorial for my Docker Development Tips&Tricks series on YouTube (this the video) 🎬
  • Started a new test project to learn how to create microservices in Golang 😎

Thank you @graciegregory and @devteam for reminding all of us to look at the good things that happened 🙂 it's so easy to get lost in the bad days..

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

So important to focus on the little things you love. Thank you for being here!

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

I was featured by the#CodeNewbies community!

community.codenewbie.org/codenewbi...

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

YES!!!

Collapse
 
kevinhickssw profile image
Kevin Hicks

I was able to turn a simple code review consulting into being hired for a bigger project to lead a team of developers for a new project for a big client.

Collapse
 
tillsanders profile image
Till Sanders

Broke my own record with my recent post: dev.to/tillsanders/let-s-stop-usin... :)

Collapse
 
chema profile image
José María CL

Yeah, I read it! Thanks for sharing

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Told my current job that I'm moving to Denver at the end of April. I was super nervous about it and how my boss would react, but they're going to let me keep doing whatever I can for them from Denver! I didn't necessarily need this to happen to make the move possible, but it's definitely going to make it easier.

It just hit me but I really am diving into this whole freelance thing head first, I'm nervous but excited!

Collapse
 
warengonzaga profile image
Waren Gonzaga

Published the version 2 of my Fork Corner open source project with huge changes such as added some new animations and useful features. Check out my project here: github.com/WarenGonzaga/fork-corner you might want to use it to your project's landing page.

Collapse
 
_fones profile image
Wojtek Grześkowiak

We've finally shipped new dashboard for our SaaS. The challenge was to do it in few steps:

  1. deploy new dashboard only for admins to test internally
  2. allow current users to switch to new dashboard when the want
  3. all new users will force to use new dashboard
  4. all users will be forced to use new dashboard

We are now in step 3.

Collapse
 
theimpulson profile image
Aayush Gupta • Edited

Landed my first full-time job this week as well as enrolled in a Bachelors's degree. Late in age compared to my friends but I guess that's normal when you change career paths. Pretty excited about how things are going well this year.

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude • Edited
  • I released my CLI for Pocket
  • I began my next book: Emotional intelligence as a software developer (if somebody wants to know more about that, I'll speak about it in my monthly newsletter).
  • I've almost a prototype for a video game to learn Vim.