DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Getting some helpful advice from someone... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Have a wonderful weekend

cute little dancing animal-like cartoon with the word "Friyay!" appearing over its head

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

I finally started working to improve my mental healthy by seeking professional help. Not tech-related but still a big win for me. Let's fight the mental health stigma 👊

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Cheering for you on this journey.

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

💙💜💛

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

Solved a really nasty bug with a combobox not scrolling the selected option. Took some time but the fix was simple.

Also finally created my own custom blog site with Remix. relatablecode.com

Still only the first iteration. Lots of work to be done.

Collapse
 
sneddonisaac profile image
Isaac Sneddon-Jenkins

heya, been keeping an eye on remix but most people have been building larger scale systems with it - what was it like building a personal blog (not trying to downgrade your work but just wanted to know how it feels at a smaller scale) :)))) i’d love to discuss how you felt the process was as i’m super interested in this framework right now

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

Sure thing! It was really intuitive. Remix has offers a few pre-built tech stacks so it makes getting starting pretty easy: remix.run/docs/en/v1/pages/stacks I used the indie stack as my baseline and made adjustments along the way.

As for the syntax and API of Remix itself. It felt really good. Colocating the data I'm looking for and the UI with React felt natural and makes it easier to refactor later on. Also felt good to use the MDN docs for a lot of the questions I had as the APIs are based on the normal web platform APIs.

I made a thread on twitter where I went through some of the process: twitter.com/relatablecoder/status/...

But, but if you want to get more into detail feel free to shoot me message.

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I just shipped some tweeks to how we build the feed query and queued up our next iteration for the feed.

I also paired with a community member and we worked through a few different things. I love seeing how other folks think and learn.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati • Edited

I could hold myself not doing any coding learning this whole week and enjoying my family & our vacation instead ❤

Also, I won and got the badge of Deepgram x DEV Hackathon Engagement Challenge (Submission Comment)! 🎉😄

Could I say double wins? 😎

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

We had a fun little get together with some neighbors on Cinco de Mayo! Drank some delicious margaritas.

margaritas

Collapse
 
matthewbdaly profile image
Matthew Daly

Working on a big feature on a Zend 1 legacy project I maintain, where I've been using Psalm to help clean up the code. This week I got it to pass level 5! Now on to level 4...

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

Made beautify.dhravya.dev and also rewrote @poet_this bot on twitter. that's a pretty big deal and it also doubled in followers today!

Also, got a 50$ forem voucher for being the top7 authors of the week (Unfortunately I'll probably give it away because I can't afford the shipping costs)

but overall, i'm so burnt out

Collapse
 
devencourt profile image
Brian Bethencourt

Hey Dhravya! Shipping is free if your subtotal is less than the voucher total! Hope you're able to pick up something you like from the Forem Shop!

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

Yes, I just realised. I don't exactly know why, but about 5 days ago when I was using the 12$ coupon I had, it asked for an additional 12$ for shipping

However, I'm pretty sure I'll be slapped with customs and what not... my dad warned me against it

Collapse
 
prudence97 profile image
Prudence97

I think I'm getting a hang of React JS.
I also started a project I left in Mid-March.
I got over 200 views on my Dev.to post. It's pretty big for me because I had doubt before publishing it.😊😊🙃 Happy Weekend.
Cheers to more wins.

Collapse
 
beetlehope profile image
Nadia Zhuk

I gave an online talk at Codementor Events. It went very well, I had a terrific time and, on top of that, I heard back from some of the participants who enjoyed the event as well.
P.S. I talked about how working as a programmer helped me write a book :)

Collapse
 
thormeier profile image
Pascal Thormeier

Gave a talk in front of 70 people at a meet-up called Fail Night about a project our team did a few years back. The project didn't even remotely go as planned, hence the talk. People greatly enjoyed the talk and I received a lot of praise for it. I love the concept of the meet-up, as it wasn't about laughing at fails but about raising awareness and talk about learnings. The first talk of the night also gave an emphasis on the mental health aspect of large-scale failures, which I think is very important. I learned a ton that night and had a great time!

Collapse
 
improgramer profile image
imPROgramer • Edited

Got a payment from my first side hustle of 5 cent .. it’s awesome 😎

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad

I built 10 new Chakra UI components.

Post Link: Free 10 chakraUI components
Website Link: TemplatesKart

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato • Edited

Not touching my PC for 3 days. Sometimes some time off from coding is very important for me.

Collapse
 
tnir profile image
T "@tnir" N

🏅 Ranked in 39th by getting my 22 PRs merged in total: https://github.com/forem/forem/graphs/contributors?from=2022-04-17&to=2022-05-07&type=c

And ranked in 2nd place 🥈 by getting my 15 PRs merged in docs: github.com/forem/forem-docs/graphs...

Collapse
 
ilyaslarhdid profile image
Larhdid ilyas

-visited my parents who live far away.
-got 50% of my project finished. B-)
-joined this website ^^