DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Howdy folks! 🤠

Looking forward to your weekend? I know I am! 🙌

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were particularly proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Collaborating with a teammate 🤜💥🤛

Classic dancing baby meme from the late 90s or early 2000s... an animated baby in a diaper is dancing around in circles with one hand up waving. The animation is kinda old school looking and definitely limited because of the time period it was made in.


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! 💌

Top comments (72)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited
  • I won a Award from Astro for my active participation in translating the Astro Docs into French ! 💜

Astro Community

Celebrate the Astro Community

favicon community.astro.build
  • Finished my work, the code works finally
  • Contributed more into OSS projects!
Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen

Congratulations! That is awesome! ✨

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thank you ! ✨

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! That's what's up Thomas. Rock on. 🙌🇫🇷

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thank youu Michael!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

How long did it take you to translate and how did you do it?

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Oh I don't count hours, but a lot ! I joined the Astro community and I simply offered to translate. It's open source, you just have to follow some simple contribution rules.

Collapse
 
monsterpi13 profile image
MonsterPi13 • Edited
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sweet! I remember seeing this post. Nicely done with the site. 🙌

By the way, I don't know if you're considering reposting articles from your personal blog onto DEV, but if you are, we have a feature called Publishing to DEV Community from RSS that you can access from here in your settings which allows you to more easily import posts from elsewhere on the web to repost right here on DEV.

You also have the ability to set up canonical links, which makes it so that the DEV version of the article will point back to the original version of the article on your site — this is important if you care about building SEO for your personal blog.

Anywho, hope this info is helpful! You def don't have to use this feature if you don't want to and if you have any questions, feel free to hit me up.

Thanks for sharing your work on DEV!

Collapse
 
monsterpi13 profile image
MonsterPi13

Hi, i'm using this feature. But i can't see my new article auto saved in my dashboard, do you know the reason, this is my RSS link

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo! Let me do some testing here and I'll get back to ya shortly. I've been meaning to test this feature, so this is a good opportunity to do so!

Thread Thread
 
monsterpi13 profile image
MonsterPi13

Thank you very much

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo! Apologies for the long hold-up.

I didn't actually get around to testing this out until today, but I can confirm I also was unable to import your blog via RSS.

That said, when reviewing the link you provided here - monsterpi13.dev/writing.xml- I think your RSS lacks enough info. For example, when I look at Digital Ocean's RSS here - digitalocean.com/blog.atom there are paragraphs of content and it includes everything that is in their blog posts.

To be honest, I'm not a developer and I don't fully know how to set up RSS to be imported by DEV, but I believe you need to have a more thorough setup. I'll look around to see if I can find any helpful resources to send your way!

Thread Thread
 
monsterpi13 profile image
MonsterPi13

Thanks for your research. my RSS subsrcption link is valid, content is the optional option in RSS link. However, i think the DEV website need this option to generate the content. So, i think this is the problem, maybe i will spend some time to follow the DEV's rule. BTW, thanks for your help.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey, no probs at all! And really appreciate your patience both with me and the system in general.

For starters, you're right that your RSS is valid... I always use this tool to test RSSes - validator.w3.org/feed/ and yours checked that box. Most of the time when folks have RSS issues, I point them here to follow the guidelines and that generally fixes the issue.

However, you didn't have that problem. As such, I looped in a dev yesterday and they pointed out that there was no content, just "title" and "link" ... so yes, I think you're correct that DEV requires content to be explicitly filled in.

Anyway, hit me back if this doesn't solve your issue and I'll be happy to help or loop in someone who can! 🙂

Collapse
 
monsterpi13 profile image
MonsterPi13

It's queite good to know this message, i will try this feature in next article, thank you.

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

I increased traffic to my new project (gdocweb) 6 fold. It's relatively easy at this point since it started at a low number, but I'm using relatively tame strategies.

On the downside engagement isn't as great so I need to work more on conversion. That's a bit challenging since I don't track users and I don't have enough real world feedback yet.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, a 6x increase is impressive... you certainly haven't been slouching, Shai! But also understand that you're starting small so the growth curve is more drastic right now.

You have a really cool product on your hands here! I think with some tweaks you'll get there. The following is all unsolicited advice:

  • I feel like the landing page is just a bit visually overwhelming right now — I think you're just a few design changes away from something that works well though.
  • I like the video at the top a lot and appreciate how quickly it gets into explaining how it all works.
  • The question I immediately had (and it's probably because I'm coming from DEV) is whether this is for normal, everyday people or just for developers — appears to be for normal folks but maybe there's a way to make that even clearer.
  • The Templates section really helped me to understand the possibilities; this also helped me realize it's for normies, haha.

Anyway, I hope things continue to improve for ya here. Like I said, I think you've built something pretty cool! If you can find the right target audience and make them aware of this thing, I think it should be successful!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

That's fantastic feedback. Thank you!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Published this post and really happy about the feedback in all directions

Looking to keep making iterative improvements here.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So siked to see this coming together. I'm sure we're gonna have lots of folks who appreciate these moves and hearing your thoughts behind the approach. 🙌

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk • Edited

I reached 2k followers on DEV,

Image description
confirmed hiring of TCG’s first Employee (his name is Carter, @thatcomputerguy2 on DEV), and yeah, that’s about it!

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot! Congrats on that 2K milestone, Griff!

By the way, I know I still need to catch up with ya soon on the interview stuff... hadn't forgotten about ya!

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

I win Turso Database SDK! 🔥

I create a PHP SDK to conect and play with Turso Database and now My Community SDK is publish in Turso Official Docs.

GitHub logo darkterminal / turso-http

The PHP library for Turso HTTP Database API

TursoHTTP

The TursoHTTP library is a PHP wrapper for Turso HTTP Database API. It simplifies interaction with Turso databases using the Hrana over HTTP protocol. This library provides an object-oriented approach to build and execute SQL queries, retrieve query results, and access various response details.

Requirements

  • Intention and Courage
  • Instinct as a Software Freestyle Engineer
  • Strong determination!
  • Turso Account
  • Don't forget to install PHP on your machine
  • A cup of coffee and the music you hate the most
  • Dancing (optional: if you are willing)

Installation

You can install the TursoHTTP library using Composer:

composer require darkterminal/turso-http
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Usage Example

use Darkterminal\TursoHTTP
require_once 'vendor/autoload.php';

$databaseName       = "your-database-name";
$organizationName   = "your-organization-name";
$token              = "your-turso-database-token";

$tursoAPI = new TursoHTTP($databaseName, $organizationName, $token);
$query = new SadQuery();

$createTableUsers = $query->
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooaaa! That's awesome stuff, Imam. Congrats on the new creation. 🙌

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

Thank you mate!!! This is a 🔥 deal for me...

Collapse
 
jagedn profile image
Jorge Eψ=Ĥψ

I've created a bash script to detect spam in dev.to, run it every day and reported ~20 posts

ahhh and published the script in dev.to, of course

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Say what?!?!

That's awesome, Jorge! Thanks for taking the time to craft a script like this. I'mma share a link so others who pop in can more easily see.

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal
  • Reached 3k Followers on DEV
  • Kicked off the project (you know the one to save articles)
  • Squashed some savvy bugs during the LinksHub Rebranding
  • 🤣 Trying to understand life. LOL!
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, 3K is a lot — gonna have to call you Anmol 3000. 😀

A shot of Andre 3000 clapping his hands from the music video for "Hey Ya"

If you figure out life, lemme know, haha!

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

🤣 Anmol 3000. LOL!

The competition is intense between "me" and "life" to see who figures out the other earlier.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

I'm officially become the Open Source Team Lead at SheSharp community! 🥰

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh rock on! This sounds like a seriously cool community. I'm gonna share this with the team!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Woot! Thanks, Michael! 😄

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen

📰 I published a post on DEV! ✨

🧵 My post received a mention in the DEV Talks section of the DEV Community Newsletter! ✨
My post mentioned in the DEV Community Newsletter

💟 I received the Icebreaker badge! ✨
The Icebreaker badge

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Booooyaaaah!! Another successful one!

By the way, major thanks for helping us to break the ice. Annnnnd, just to say every time I go looking for folks to award the Warm Welcome badge to, your name is near top of the list... you've of course, already gotten it but you continue to say hey to folks there every week and it's just super generous of you to take the time. Appreciate ya being such a kind, uplifiting member of our community, Anita! 🙂

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen

Teehee 😁 Yay!

Aw, you are very welcome! 🙂 😁

It is a pleasure to be here! 😃

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

This one was a huge week for me:

  • I created an AI system proof of concept for my client in just a few days with great performance
  • I led a community AI event at work for a dozen executives at various organizations around town
  • We kicked off our first yearly meeting of the Central Ohio .NET Developer Group to a large crowd
  • My A/V setup got approved by LinkedIn for course recording
  • I hacked my first box on HackTheBox
  • I finally ran out of sticker space on my old laptop and decided to upgrade, but upgrade to a Linux machine this time around
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, that does sound like a big week, Matt!

There's a lotta cool stuff in here, but for some reason that HackTheBox caught my eye. I wanna know what that's all about... from looking it up, it sounds like it's a sorta cyber-security assessment or class. Is that correct?

Anywho, congrats on all the dang wins here! 🙌

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

It's a way of practicing pentesting and learning about cyber security without going to jail. Lots of VMs set up to challenge you on certain skills and concepts. It's a SaaS company, and if offers both the labs for active hacking practice and the academy for different labs with some fantastic written supporting content associated with them. Plus, my .edu E-Mail address let me get academy for $8 / month, which is great!

Thread Thread
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Oh! My other win was LinkedIn named me a tip voice in software engineering!

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

@michaeltharrington what's your win for the week?

I wrote my first Bash script. It failed somewhere. Not to sure where I failed, so I'm going to execute it line by line till I see the error. It's only a 5 line script that updates Ubuntu. I wonder if I can have it so it runs in the background when I log in? That's another mission.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sorry for the hold up, Stefan!

My major win was that I've been away on vacation — skiing in Telluride, Colorado. ⛷

I just returned today and am feeling nice and refreshed... and most importantly, not hurt, haha!

Anywho, I'm doing my big catch-up day now — DEV notifications, emails, Slack, Discord, etc. It's wild how much activity can happen in ~ a week.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Vacations are an automatic win in my book. It's just the amount of work waiting for you when you get back that gets me. Glad you back and rested.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

My win this week was:

  • testing negative from COVID
  • fixing 2 bugs that hinders job seekers to apply to jobs and a bug that hinders a company to hire a job seeker
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

testing negative from COVID

Haha, always good news! I'm gonna be on an airplane headed to Colorado tomorrow and I'm hoping I stay in the clear. 🤞

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Safe travels!!

Collapse
 
buzzpy profile image
Buzzpy 💡

It's my best week in 2024 so far!

  • I got featured in the top 7 for the first time!
  • My first 1.1K followers!
  • One article passed 6K views for the first time ()
  • Got a partnership invitation for writing.
  • Published my first book review + tiny giveaway (and it's the longest article I've written): "The Programmer's Brain : How it works and how to make it work" 🎉💃💃🎉
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohooo!! That's a super successful week right there. Good stuff, Buzzpy!

Collapse
 
giuliano1993 profile image
Giuliano1993

I finally opened my repo ServerMan to Open Source Contributions and had the first working version with DigitalOcean, Netlify and Vercel
Give it a look ( and a try / contribution / star ;) ) here if you wish

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.