DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey everybody πŸ‘‹

Hope all you folks enjoy your weekends!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cooking up a delicious meal πŸ›

A group of Pokemon jump up together in celebration

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

I built a company, from scratch, with two team mates, from a new domain, to a working product, with revenue, and we did it in two weeks.

  • Kubernetes cluster, check!
  • Stripe payment integrations, check!
  • Back office admin interface, check!
  • Automatic deployments from trial accounts and pro accounts into K8S, check!
  • Super slick SEO optimized website, performing in the 1% range, check!
  • 30 plus super high quality articles attracting 300+ daily visitors, check!
  • Setting up several paying clients into production, check!

Budget? €7 πŸ˜‚

Seriously!! 😎

I freakin' adore my team 😎😁

Collapse
 
imronpuji profile image
imronpuji

Wow great !

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Mine is bonding with my cat Nianna who we affectionately call Baby Key. She has been following me around all week wanting attention and snuggling up with me whenever I sit down to watch tv or lay down to sleep at night. She can be quite devilish, so seeing her be so sweet has been a really nice treat. πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Aww 🀩

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

Scheduling my first official Twitter Space for @opensauced next week! We're doing an hour answering questions and chatting about open source:

twitter.com/i/spaces/1OdJrzpRenpJX...

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

Yeah, in my case, I started my account from Dev.to and it's really a big start of something.
Something exciting and memorable. I got the talented and passionate community here. Thank you, DEV Team!!!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh that's awesome to hear, Gabe!

Welcome to DEV, it's great to have ya with us. I hope you keep enjoying the community. πŸ™Œ

Also, if ya have questions about anything, feel free to hit me up right here in this thread or via email - michael@dev.to.

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

thanks Michael.
Hope someday i could be in DEV team

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Thank you for being so enthusiastic Gabe!

Collapse
 
codenerd profile image
Hiro

Nice to meet you Ben

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

I'm Freelancing now, and I've got my first client πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awwwww yeaaaaah! That is so awesome, Thomas. Congrats!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thanks Michael! ✨

Collapse
 
equiman profile image
Camilo Martinez

Learning a lot of node.js, applying dependency injection to add easy support for different package managers and versions, only changing a configuration file.

All that to add new compatibility for #yarn classic and berry to #swpm (switch package manager) 🧢πŸ₯³

npmjs.com/package/swpm

Collapse
 
dvddpl profile image
Davide de Paolis

i haven't loose my job yet. (and it's not looking good actually)
seriously. the trend is scary and depressing.
lots of support to everyone affected by layoffs

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

It is indeed a rough time! But, I'm really glad you still got your position... here's to you keeping it! 🍻

Collapse
 
jlewis92 profile image
Jack Lewis • Edited

finally hit 100 followers on DEV!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Congrats on that one... hundred. πŸ’―

Collapse
 
aarushikansal profile image
Aarushi Kansal • Edited

I've started writing again, this time on Generative AI!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very nice! That was a super cool post, Aarushi. πŸ™Œ

By the way, when ya are dropping posts in comments, you can embed them if you wanna so that they look like this:

The markdown for that is as such: {% embed https://dev.to/aarushikansal/giving-your-large-language-model-skills-stoicism-meets-ai-5gd1 %} ... you def don't have to do this, but I thought this might be helpful to share with you!

Collapse
 
aarushikansal profile image
Aarushi Kansal

ohhh awesome, thanks for letting me know Michael!
And glad you liked the post

Collapse
 
levischouten profile image
Levi Schouten

I wrote my first bash script and I even blogged about it.

dev.to/levischouten/streamlining-b...

Still lots to learn of course, but I had lots of fun!

Collapse
 
gdjohn4s profile image
gdjohn4s

We built a website to help developers looking for public and free APIs, and it's totally open source ⭐️
APIVault

In only 78 hours we reached:

  • 🌎 over 2.1k users from around the world
  • πŸ‘€ 2,600 repository views
  • ⭐ 92 stars received
  • πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» 7 contributors to the project.

I made a post here on dev.to if you want to check it out.

I'm so proud of this!!

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

i managed to get a PR from one of our OPS into one of our base software (a shell inside a docker image). πŸ€—

Collapse
 
devshetty profile image
Deveesh Shetty

Well, this is a pretty big win

I started flutter and I followed a document tutorial from Google codelab in official Flutter docs. First time i learned something just by reading docs and blogs and no video tutorials.

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Pretty good.
-Completed my Python Essentials I course.
-Debuted a new YouTube podcast series on technical training.

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Crossed the 1,500 subscriber mark with my 5 month old YouTube channel. Invited to speak at a couple of conferences and on a major podcast.