DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Discovering a great new musical artist... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Congrats on your wins — let's take a collective victory lap!

Kool & the Gang singing "Celebrate"

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Our team finished second in the corporate hackathon, and we got to present our idea to the CEO (win #1). During the presentation, I made a joke related to the CEO and didn't get fired for it (win #2)... at least, not yet 😋

Next year, we'll go for the overall win 😊

Collapse
 
bhupesh profile image
Bhupesh Varshney 👾

What's the joke though:)

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

It was something silly about how he would like if he had a handlebar mustache. More meant to catch his attention than to be funny 😳

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

Tell us the joke ;)

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

It was something silly about how he would like if he had a handlebar mustache. More meant to catch his attention than to be funny... but it worked :)

Collapse
 
__manucodes profile image
manu
  • This week was monotonous.
  • Spent literally 30 hours trying to convert all of the old PHP code of my app to secure and new code.
  • Deleted more than half of my server's files since they were outdated and pretty much useless XD
  • Although, the end results are satisfying. There are soooo many changes to my GitHub repository since my last commit.

And, guess what....
My app finally hit 400 users!

Collapse
 
nickfrosty profile image
Nick Frostbutter

It is always so satisfying when you make those sorts of updates! Pay off that technical debt buddy :) I actually just finished the same goal with my personal website this week

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Here are the things I've managed to do:

  • company homepage has most of the skeleton layout done (only missing styling and functionality).
  • I connected the AWS SES, Lambda, and API Gateway services together (only needs to connect to the frontend now).
  • I studied Typescript for a few days in the week.
  • continued to network and expand my connections.
Collapse
 
mrsharm profile image
Mukund Raghav Sharma (Moko)
Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I've submitted my DEV + GitHub Hackathon project 🥳

And also I have been learning more about streaming data with Materialize and I've also been playing around with AdonisJS which is a great Node.js freamework!

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel
  1. learn how to add good typescript types to old js library as my old 5 year old node.js orm: github.com/TobiasNickel/tmysqlprom...

with ts conditional typing and templatestring types.

  1. i found that puppeteer now is less dependent on installed c libraries in linux. now I can use puppeteer in my virtual server at 1&1. these c libraries where are considered desktop libraries, so they are not awailable in the 1&1 ubuntu repo. Thanks to the puppeteer team 👍.

My plan is to use it as webrtc turn server, that is easier to install and with more features than coturn.

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

Taking part in a live coding event, learning how to improve testing and actually using more keyboard shortcuts in PhpStorm, and sadly probably one of the last in-person event before another so-called lockdown, as our !civilized && !intelligent && !solidary first-world society failed another time to handle the covid pandemic.

Thanks so much for everyone taking part and for Roland / Never Code Alone for the courage and effort to organize an actual event these days!

nevercodealone.de/de/fullstack-php...

Collapse
 
fromwentzitcame profile image
Alex Wentz

I just finished the third phase on Ruby in my coding bootcamp. Starting Rails this coming week, then it'll be time to create my final project. My portfolio is growing, I might have some freelance work starting soon, and I'm starting to actually feel like a real programmer!

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

I launched a new side project I've been working on with my friends yesterday

gh-sorting-hat.netlify.app/

Collapse
 
jordaneaster profile image
Suprema1000 • Edited

I finally made a middlewear block component for my gatsby project to give the client full functionality through the cms using graphql fragments. Now all I have to do is add in the sass and hand it off!

Collapse
 
nickfrosty profile image
Nick Frostbutter

After taking 2 days to get down and dirty, I converted my entire blog to NuxtJS. I still have lots more work to do to improve the SEO juices (like a sitemap and RSS to get some articles going here on dev.to)

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
Raí B. Toffoletto

Not sure if this is a genuine win or even a legal one... 🤔 but I finally fixed the OpenCore bootloader on my hackintosh that's been broken since may. I'm a Linux guy but I like to flirt with MacOs from time to time.

At work all projects going smoothly and without unexpected bugs. So I guess that's a win too ☺️☺️

Collapse
 
fkkarakurt profile image
Fatih Küçükkarakurt

Everything was going great this week. I have a project on neural networks with vanilla C99 and it's almost done. I am currently preparing the documentation. I hope to publish it on github as soon as possible. Everything was fine. However, I had to leave the job I was working as a remote copywriter 2 days ago. It will be a difficult time financially. I hope I can find a new remote job

Collapse
 
sturpin profile image
Sergio Turpín

This week I started with many good things!! 🙌

  • I have started my first project with NextJS.
  • An agency has confirmed a concert for me this Friday in Murcia (Spain).
  • Yesterday I went out to run 12 km and today I am worse than bad 😂 but happy to have overcome it.

Happy week for everybody 👋

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

Made a plugin for neovim: fine-cmdline.nvim.

It has more than 3 stars already. I'm famous!