DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Happy Friday!

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Landing a new job
  • Planning a fun weekend activity... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Have a great weekend!

World's Best Cup of Coffee Buddy the Elf

Top comments (56)

Collapse
 
brendamichellle profile image
Brenda Michelle

I was able to code and study code for at least an hour day while chasing a 3 year old, 2 year old, and carrying a 3 month old 😂 And also co-created with @lauracharvey a discord server for women in tech from all over the world. 🙂

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

You had me at three year old. And then I read the rest. You're a power presence in the community.

Collapse
 
brendamichellle profile image
Brenda Michelle

😂 Thankfully the 3 year old goes to school

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Pam from The Office saying Nice!

Collapse
 
erileff profile image
Erica L. (she/they)

If you're open to posting the link, I'd be super interested in joining that server!

Collapse
 
brendamichellle profile image
Brenda Michelle

Maybe I can send it to you through a message or email?

Thread Thread
 
erileff profile image
Erica L. (she/they)

I just found the tweets you and Laura posted about it -- I'll DM one of you on there! :)

Collapse
 
debugagrawal profile image
Deepak Vijay Agrawal • Edited

I got accepted for MLH Fellowship Explorer track. 🥳✨🎉

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Gym teacher from Glee saying amazing!

Collapse
 
debugagrawal profile image
Deepak Vijay Agrawal

Thanks 😊✨

Collapse
 
souvikinator profile image
Souvik Kar Mahapatra

Great!! For which one? Summer?

Collapse
 
debugagrawal profile image
Deepak Vijay Agrawal

Thank you,😊
Spring

Collapse
 
xinnks profile image
James Sinkala

Completed and submitted a visitor article for a certain technical writting program. I got my first experience working with an editor.
Also had my first technical interview yesterday, there were nerves initially, hoping for the best (fingers crossed).

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby doing a cheers

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

Took some annual leave, spent time with the family, and affirmed within myself that I do actually love my job as I didn't remotely dislike the idea of going back in. All whilst mulling over other opportunities which have presented themselves to me.

Probably more wins than that, but that's what sticks out the most.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Amy Poehler being cool

Collapse
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar • Edited

I did 2 TECH LIVE Shows on my YouTube Channel "The Destro Dev Show"
2.

Verdaccio - A lightweight Private Proxy Registry built in Node.js

youtube.com/watch?v=P_hxy7W-IL4

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

TV personality saying Frickin' awesome!

Collapse
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar

😊👋 Thanks Nick!

Thread Thread
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar

Here is another one
dev.to/destro_mas/comment/1amd2

Collapse
 
zuluana profile image
Oranda

I published my first Github package and posted an article about it. I still need to work on promoting myself, but I'm happy I put it out there =)

Github: Extensible TS / JS Dependency Injection Framework
Article: Learn Dependency Injection with Doug the Goldfish 🐠

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actress in a film saying crushed it

Collapse
 
zuluana profile image
Oranda

Haha thanks! I just joined, but I'm really enjoying the community

Collapse
 
lukewestby profile image
Luke Westby

I baked an angel food cake and it turned out pretty well even though I undermixed the meringue

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice! I'm sure the meringue still tasted good.

TV hosts on some cooking show saying "On your marks, get set, bake!"

Collapse
 
lukewestby profile image
Luke Westby

I don’t normally care for the taste of meringue and meringue-based recipes alone because there is so so much sugar and nothing to offset it. But for some reason angel food cake with strawberries is a strong exception. Definitely worth trying for the bakers out there.

Collapse
 
dazfuller profile image
Darren Fuller

The Spark data source I helped write for parsing CEF data went into production and took processing of 75GB data from 11 hours down to 1.5 hours.

It’s a really niche win, but I’m taking it

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That’s some serious speed improvements!

Quicksilver from X-Men running

Collapse
 
cyrilcabo profile image
Cyril Cabo

I was able to add a blog section to my website, and I published my first article yesterday!

Collapse
 
gdhebling profile image
Gui Hebling

I started to write my first blog post ✍ (soon, dev.to 😅) and finished designing a website for a study project 🚀

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Chow Yun-fat giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
cryptoquick profile image
Distributed Hunter Trujillo

This:
dev.to/cryptoquick/seeing-the-fore...
Super excited to get to work!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Toast jumping out of a toastser

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
Médéric Burlet
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

You did it!

Collapse
 
abhishekkumar201005 profile image
abhishekkumar201005

I am completed my college work for University examination and learn new concept in javascript & data structures.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
williamhenderson profile image
William Henderson

Fixing the stupidest bug in one of my projects on MacOS despite not having a Mac to test it on

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Dog slipping ice and sliding on their belly

Collapse
 
dmahely profile image
Doaa Mahely • Edited

Got closer to finishing a course project 🔥

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Croc mascot nodding

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.