DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on your week, what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Catching up with an old friend... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Happy Friday!

Squidward jumping for joy

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We officially launched the Forem iOS app. Context on what that means here...

I feel like the win was seeing the tremendous organization and execution from @fdoxyz and @joshpuetz in coming up with really creative engineering solutions and pulling it all together to get it out the door.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Congratulations and well done! I love the app!

Collapse
 
lexplt profile image
Alexandre Plt

I started working on a new issue with a coworker and we tackled it in less than a day!

Also, I'm finally getting back to work on an old project and fixed a variadic templated polymorphic component class to factorize some components in a single one (that's a lot of words to say "it works" 🤯)

Collapse
 
miguelmj profile image
MiguelMJ

I made the second official release (v1.1) of Answerable! This project is like my baby right now, so after some very busy months without working on it, it felt wonderful to be able to make some improvements.

GitHub logo MiguelMJ / Answerable

Recommendation system for Stack Overflow unanswered questions

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is really neat.

Collapse
 
cescquintero profile image
Francisco Quintero 🇨🇴

Two weeks ago a new member joined my team and he's been super productive since day one.

The win is that the onboarding I put in place to have him understand three different projects and not feel intimidated was good enough. He's already sent stuff to production for the most important piece of software and he looks very comfortable fixing bugs and traversing the project.

Best thing is he acknowledged it because things has gone on his favor and many of the questions he's had are solved by many of the docs I put up the effort to write 😅

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Wow, what a story! Good luck to your team and to him :)

Collapse
 
areeburrub profile image
Areeb ur Rub

Finally Published My Chrome Extension on Chrome Web Store after working on it for days.

The Extension I build gives all websites on internet a live chat feature, like the one on a Live Stream.

Sounds Cool right? it is Cool !

Check it out : The Live Chat Extension

The Live Chat Extension

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I've reached 4k watch hours on my small YouTube channel 🎉

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus • Edited

Completed my T-Zone (Temperature Zone tracker) which can be completely controlled from app (via Bluetooth). You can place a device in each temperature zone, set the room name and then get all the current data from your phone via BT. You can even remotely start/stop logging to the SD Card. Then later you can retrieve the CSV file (via Bluetooth) which contains the room name, date/time, and temperatures which are read every 5 seconds. You can then graph rooms over each other to find hot/cold spots throughout your office/domicile.

T-zone Temperature Tracker

Collapse
 
__manucodes profile image
manu

Let's see....

  • Last Day of School! (7th grade => 8th grade)
  • Fixed some bugs ✨
  • I'm planning to start a blog soon!
Collapse
 
banjobatman profile image
Banjo Batman

Finished writing a Mongodb import from Mariadb so I can sync my old data with my new data, and am nearly done porting my older angular front end to use the Mongodb data. NoSQL for the win, as far as I'm concerned.

Collapse
 
xtineskim profile image
Christine Kim

i finally made my first npm package! npmjs.com/package/svelte-stars-hov...
I always been meaning to try to create a pkg, and I finally did it :)

Collapse
 
varuogm profile image
gourav majee

My New year resolution was to write a tech article before my birthday and

I published my first article yesterday and kept my resolution.

(today is my bday btw )


here is the link - link
# i hope you enjoy it.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Nothing this week. I win nothing 😭

Collapse
 
rounakcodes profile image
rounakcodes

Admitting it and noting it down is so important. Helps in accepting failures as part of the journey instead of giving up altogether!

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Managed to get a lot of interviews and a few technical tests to complete 💪

Collapse
 
mayankpathak profile image
Mayank Pathak

Updating and Beautifying Github Repositoires😻

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Impressed my client who started having some doubts on my skills. Everything looks good! 😌