DEV Community

Jess Lee for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week? πŸ™Œ

Hey everyone :)

We're wrapping another week -- I hope it was a good one!

Looking back on it, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Teaming up with a teammate 🀝

A clip from the old-school live action Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movies from the 90's... the turtles all give a four-way high five while saying

Top comments (47)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

πŸ“° I published a new post on DEV! ✨


Β 

πŸ’Ÿ I received a new badge on DEV! ✨
The #discuss badge
Β 

πŸ’³ I acquired Full Access to W3Schools! ✨
W3Schools Full Access confirmation message
Β 

πŸ’» I completed the HTML Tutorial on W3Schools! ✨
HTML Tutorial completed
Β 

πŸ’» I completed the HTML Quiz on W3Schools! ✨
Scored 100 percent on the HTML Quiz
Β 

πŸ’» I finished all 106 HTML exercises on W3Schools! ✨
All 106 HTML exercises completed announcement
Β 

⭐ I received my first Activity Stars on W3Schools! ✨
My tree stars on my W3Schools profile
Β 

πŸ”“ I unlocked a new game level island on CodeCombat! ✨
New game level island ulocked
Β 

πŸ’» I completed nine singleplayer levels on CodeCombat! ✨
I also earned the following achievements:
CodeCombat achievements
Completed 125 Variables Levels Achievement
Β 

πŸ’Ÿ I received two new badges on Codecademy! ✨
My two badges
Β 

🎯 I met my weekly target on Codecademy! ✨
My Weekly Target met
Β 

πŸ’» I finished all of the 4 tutorials in JOY OF PROGRAMMING - Software Engineering Simulator on Steam! ✨
JOY OF PROGRAMMING - Software Engineering Simulator
Β 

πŸͺ I had macarons for the first time! ✨
French macarons

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

Whoa, what a busy and SUCCESSFUL week! Congrats!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Thank you so much, it was a blast! 😁

Collapse
 
youngfra profile image
Fraser Young

Big wins!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Oh wah! Awesome! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Thank you! 😊

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

That's a busy week! I didn't even know that w3schools had all of that.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Indeed. I love to keep busy! πŸ˜ƒ Ah, well now you know 😊

Collapse
 
mince profile image
Mince

that was awesome

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Thanks 😊

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Wouaw! So many wins!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

Thank you! πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

May was crazy (lost some clients, unexpected bills) but June is turning out better than expected, with new possible gigs. With some luck I'll have time again to focus on personal projects, like writing to dev :)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜† • Edited

Aw. June is great! Always look on the bright side! πŸ™ƒ Best wishes ✨

Collapse
 
jamcry profile image
Cem

πŸ“ After years of wanting, finally started my blog and started posting to record my learnings and share with the community at cemkiray.com!

πŸ“– It uses Astro and Astro Paper theme. While setting up the site, I also dived into Astro docs and learned a lot, it's a great tool for content driven sites, like a blog, and it's really fast!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

It looks great!

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley πŸ“πŸ₯­ • Edited

I have taken my transcript in official workplace. I started look after it 7months ago. Sincerely, I didn't think that I will obtain it. Yesterday, i finally obtained it. It is a great joy. I'm happy along this week. It was an fear sensation when I get started 7 months ago, because I stepped out from my comfort zone. This transcript should be taken 15 years ago. It remains a high victory, alongside fixing some bugs in PHP and MySQL.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Feeling incredibly blessed for the honor of an invite to the House of Lords, as a goodwill to my volunteer work ( on Ethical AI, Machine Learning and mentorship) with the "The OR Society"
Image description

Collapse
 
shhdharmen profile image
Dharmen Shah

I released a new tool this week.

Theme Builder for Angular Material Components | Angular Material Dev

Build, preview and export themes for Angular Material

favicon themes.angular-material.dev
Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Second week in a row I publish a post and have decent success 😌

dev.to/_ndeyefatoudiop/javascript-...

Collapse
 
avanichols profile image
Ava Nichols

Got my new macbook set up

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Nice.

Collapse
 
thomasheideman profile image
ThomasHeideman

I completed 5 projects from my Udemy course

Image description

Collapse
 
dilane3 profile image
Dilane3

I'm still building my React Framework, I decided to call it Rasenganjs 😊

I'm very proud of it. It was not easy to develop, thinking about all the core API, how it will works and all the rest.

You can check it here: rasengan.dev

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley πŸ“πŸ₯­

Wow.

Collapse
 
dilane3 profile image
Dilane3

😁😁

Collapse
 
kevinweejh profile image
Kevin • Edited

I scheduled a CRON job using GitHub Actions for the first time! Fixed one bug relating to repeated seed too.
Details: There's a 'Featured Artist' section on my GitHub profile that depends on pseudo-RNG to pick from my JSON file to render details of a different featured artist each day. The issue was that the commit would fail if it picks the same artist twice in a row, the commit would fail since there are no changes to the tracked file - resulting in the GitHub Actions workflow failing.
See Line 35-49

I also finally got past my hesitation and self-doubt to clean up my LinkedIn profile.
Details: Shifted focus away from my pre-transition life and career, now focusing 100% on my new path as a frontend dev!
I did a thing

Lastly, I have started the slow process of migrating my JavaScript projects to use TypeScript! Slowly, but surely! Type checking, let's goooo!

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley πŸ“πŸ₯­

The first one, i didn't understand it.

Collapse
 
kevinweejh profile image
Kevin

Let me explain,

My GitHub public profile has a 'Featured Artist' section near the bottom. It automatically refreshes daily with the help of a CRON job in GitHub Actions, which compiles and run this script.

When run, it writes into the README.md file that displays my profile page, and automatically commits and pushes the changes to main branch. However, I occasionally encounter errors in this commit + push step, which I determined to happen when the script is run, but no changes are made to the README.md file. This occasionally happens because the 'randomization' that takes place to render new content each day is written in a way where it is possible for the selected content can be the same for two consecutive days. This results in having no changes to commit, and the push fails.

I fixed this by writing in a second job for the GitHub Actions workflow, check-run-again. This second job runs if the push fails, and triggers the workflow from the startl, re-compiling and re-running the script. Of course, there is still the possibility of randomizing to the same content again, but probability is low. If that were to happen, the second job will kick in again until different content is rendered.

I hope that clarifies things - feel free to let me know if I am unclear.

Collapse
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

I finally met the CEO of the company I joined in April and had a great time dining and chatting with him and his partner.

Also, I took less than 1 hour from finding out about form spam to deploying an elegant solution that worked on the same day.

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

For the first time I released a full video project, datadriven and informative... and hopefully informative yet making human feel emotions.
Here is the full workflow detailed:

Collapse
 
nelsonfigueroa profile image
Nelson Figueroa

I wrote a rant-y post that actually got a lot of attention on Hacker News. It's not all positive attention but πŸ€·πŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ. I also cross-posted it here on dev.to.

Collapse
 
suzukistumpy profile image
Mark Edwards

Fastest 5k and longest ever run (just shy of 10k).

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.