DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee Subscriber for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Eating leftovers before they expire 🍲

kims convenience leftover scene

Happy Friday!

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I posted for the first time in literally years!

Would be interested in feedback as I do want to get back into creating content one way or another, if it’s going to actually provide value for some people!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Thanks Ben!

Collapse
 
jyoung4242 profile image
Justin Young

Your posting was a legit introduction, I've very curious to see how your series rolls out, I'm very interested to see how this goes...!

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Thanks, appreciate it - so am I as I’m not quite sure what it’s going to look like yet πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
priya01 profile image
Priya

Hey everyone! πŸ‘‹

This week, I made my first open-source contribution! It was a valuable learning experience and a great opportunity to engage with a wider community.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome!

Collapse
 
priya01 profile image
Priya

Thank you! 😊

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley πŸ“πŸ₯­ • Edited

I'm working on some specific illustrations on twitter that a guy can buy.

You will check it out : valone.cm/discovering.php

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

My second technical book, Data Science in .NET with Polyglot Notebooks released this morning on Amazon!

Also, I gave my first official presentation as a Wizard at Leading EDJE, presenting on Technical Debt to a prospective client.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I wrote up the book announcement and posted it here at dev.to/integerman/announcing-data-...

Book Infographic

Collapse
 
tmsh profile image
Tom S

Working on a "toy" VSCode editor clone. Refactored a ton of it this week, including using a single object with handleEvent instead of multiple distinct listeners, and using CSS containment. Also rewrote the custom language-agnostic parser/highlighter using a single long regex with a replacer function instead of splitting the string and testing each chunk against a series of regex. And cut one extra loop by building indentation-based collapsible chunk info while moving forward by checking backwards, which alone took at least two days because I had to better understand how it checks forward first despite already having that written weeks ago. Reduced total parse and render time to ~8-20ms on my slightly-older all-in-one PC (6 core @ 2.4GHz, 8GB RAM).

Not looking forward to managing editing while there's collapsed chunks, but I had that partially functional before the rebuild, so there's at least some groundwork.

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley πŸ“πŸ₯­

Good. Come in future to inform evolution of project. I will like to be aware.

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh
Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I wrote a new article and I'm posting it today πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

I entered the World Photography Day 2024 Contest on Flickr. This is my first, since I started my photography learning earlier this year. Here are my photo entries.

Collapse
 
jyoung4242 profile image
Justin Young • Edited

I took a couple weeks break from posting due to work being busy... but I just posted another entry into the Peasy-UI series!!! This one is tied to using Peasy to bind CSS in your projects.

Link to article

I have at least one more entry into the Peasy-UI series dealing with component based design in the framework, that will be VERY exciting!!!!!

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul • Edited

This week was mostly loss, but one win was getting my article featured on both dev.to and hackernoon

This gif accurately summarizes what's going on this month

dowb

Collapse
 
arturo_cancino_d1d596d751 profile image
Arturo Cancino

I started studying D&A / System Design semi consistently again this week after failing an onsite and going through a brief phase of no belief.

Collapse
 
shukerullah profile image
Pir Shukarullah Shah Rashdi

Adsense approved for my site: gameologist.app

Collapse
 
muriloandrei profile image
muriloandrei

Not killing myself

Collapse
 
tmsh profile image
Tom S

Always a good weekly goal 1. It does leave ambiguity though, as it doesn't say "anyone" / "or anyone else". But that just means you have something to try for next week if the FBI doesn't come knocking :)

Collapse
 
stokry profile image
Stokry

I published my new handbook, β€œMissing Handbook for Django Senior Developers.” You can check it out here πŸ‘‰ shorturl.at/bz9TM