DEV Community

Cover image for What's the Most Efficient Setup for Your Code Editor or IDE?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on with Erin A Olinick

What's the Most Efficient Setup for Your Code Editor or IDE?

What's the most efficient setup you've found? Do you use any specific plugins, extensions, or shortcuts? Let's share some tips and tricks to make our coding lives easier! 🚀


Join the conversation and follow the DEV Team for more thought-provoking discussions!

Image by pch.vector on Freepik.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
renzhamin profile image
renzhamin

neovim LSP combined with telescope is literally,
good(vscode) - bad(vscode) + good(vim)

Collapse
 
narottam04 profile image
Narottam04

I am a vscode user, but from past few weeks I am feeling like I am using my mouse too much and wanted to switch to other ide that will force me to use my keybaord more.

Is there a way for me to try out Neovim without having to learn a lot about configuration and setup? I've heard that configuring Vim to work like VSCode requires a lot of effort.

Collapse
 
renzhamin profile image
renzhamin

First thing is, people don't use neovim just for the keyboard driven workflow. Neovim can be configured with vimscript or lua, so you can essentially code your own editing experience and thats where neovim gets the advantage

If you want to get good with the keyboard and vim bindings than I recommend starting with vimtutor and play this game to get fast

If you want to work in projects while using neovim then you can checkout LunarVim. Its neovim but a lot of things are preconfigured. You can start from there, and gradually start tinkering with the config and make it your own

Thread Thread
 
narottam04 profile image
Narottam04

Thank you so much for the resources and clarification. I'll try LunarVim on weekend.

Collapse
 
engineeredsoul profile image
Aadarsh Kannan

I have been using Gitpod, which is a cloud-based IDE that allows us to work on any projects within a browser. It eliminates the need to set up a development environment on a local machine. I find it very fast, easy, and effective. Gitpod also has a Chrome extension that allows us to run any GitHub project with a single click.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

Same here. Just press a button and go