DEV Community

Cover image for What Was Your First Cell Phone? πŸ™ŒπŸ“±
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

What Was Your First Cell Phone? πŸ™ŒπŸ“±

Moto Razr for the win! πŸ™Œ 44 33 555 555 666 6 666 8 666

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Image by pch.vector on Freepik

Top comments (39)

Collapse
 
ervin_szilagyi profile image
Ervin Szilagyi

INokia 3410

Collapse
 
michalispapamichael profile image
Michalis Papamichael

Do you still use it? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
ervin_szilagyi profile image
Ervin Szilagyi

No, but I still have it somewhere in a drawerπŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
beinginvincible profile image
Ha__sh

Legendary Nokia

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello • Edited

I had a Motorola bag phone sometime around 1994 or 1995. Sorry I don't have any photos and I don't remember the specific model. Google "bag phone" to see what these looked like.

Here's a wikipedia page about them.

The Motorola bag phone is the colloquial name for a line of personal transportable cellular telephones manufactured by Motorola, inc. from 1988 to 2000.

Collapse
 
valeriavg profile image
Valeria

I don’t remember the model, it was an old flip Motorola with an antenna 🀩

Image description

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I remember holding one of these when I was small πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
greggcbs profile image
GreggHume

damnnnn this thing is for reals. I remember holding one as a kid and even back then thinking the thing was big. Im sure there are bigger gray ones.

Collapse
 
mihneasim profile image
Mihnea Simian

AEG HT911 (1997)

It used the full-size gsm card (the one as large as a credit card). Got it second-hand in ~2003, brought from Spain; the battery was on its end of life.. and it was locked-in with Orange service provider (that's not legal anymore in EU).
Image description

Collapse
 
ptheodosiou profile image
Pantelis Theodosiou

Nokia 7610. Still works like a charm.
I still remember the day that my brother asked me if I wanted a mobile phone. In other words I bought it from him so we could then buy a new one for himself πŸ˜‚. Best choice ever. Nokia never disappointed me πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
greggcbs profile image
GreggHume

Motorola M3888 - year 2000 - I was 13
All my friends used to tease me at school because they had nokias and I had this brick.

Image description

Collapse
 
troy5890 profile image
Troy Harris

Samsung Galaxy S Player 5.0
That phone was excellent at the time. Managed to get into custom ROM's and flash from Gingerbread, all the way up to Android Kitkat 4.4. I loved every minute using it to test different kernels and ROM's...

Collapse
 
rocketeerfly profile image
RoketeerFly

Nokia 7070 Prism

Image description

Collapse
 
trentbrew profile image
Trent Brew

pretty :o

Collapse
 
deozza profile image
Edenn Touitou

I got a HTC chacha when I was 14. It was a cheap phone, with a physical keyboard like a blackberry and a touch screen. At the time I wasn't convince by the full touch screen, I wanted some "mechanical" feel for the keyboard, to be sure what letter I was pressing.

It was a cool phone, only for the battery who was heating so much it melted some usb cables.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I don’t remember but it sucked

Collapse
 
erinposting profile image
Erin Bensinger

A plain black flip phone, no frills.

LG Envoy II, no camera. The year was 2007 and I was 13 years old.

Collapse
 
alvesjessica profile image
Jessica Alves

Nokia 5125

Image description

Collapse
 
greggcbs profile image
GreggHume

Looks like my Motorola i posted. I definitely know someone who has had this phone.

Collapse
 
rpg_ash profile image
RPG_ash • Edited

Mine was a One2One m301 (Motorola) in 1993. Unfortunately does not work any more.

mobilephonehistory.co.uk/motorola/...

m301 box
m301 Box

m301 phone
m301

m301 with smallest battery attached next to a Galaxy S8
m301 with smallest battery attached next to a Galaxy S8

Collapse
 
greggcbs profile image
GreggHume

phew 1993!! Thats crazy. I was 5 years old.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Panasonic GD90 πŸ₯°

Panasonic cell phone GD90

Collapse
 
qbentil profile image
Bentil Shadrack

My first cell phone was Nokia 3310