DEV Community

Cover image for Who's participating in Hacktoberfest 2020?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Who's participating in Hacktoberfest 2020?

Hacktoberfest 2020 is coming up in one week!

If you're seeking contributors or looking for projects to contribute to this month, check out this thread:

Regardless of whether or not you've decided on a project to make contributions, this is the place to meet fellow participants!

Tell us who you are and why you're taking part this year :)

Top comments (130)

Collapse
 
mindset profile image
Jayesh Tembhekar ⚡

Hacktoberfest 2020 is my first one. 😬😃

Collapse
 
tanvesh01 profile image
Tanvesh sarve

I AM!! my first one!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Whooo!! Good luck!

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Heck yeah I am. Ready and waiting. Can’t wait to participate in my first Hacktoberfest.

Collapse
 
quinncuatro profile image
Henry Quinn

What are you going to be working on? Saw you were getting into JAMstack and I’ve had a lot of fun with projects in that space.

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Honestly no clue, have a lot to learn. Working through VetsWhoCode cohort right now and learning. Have my own project I could work on but probably just get comfortable contributing to other projects where I can for the month. Haven’t put much thought into it really. Been way to busy with work.

Thread Thread
 
quinncuatro profile image
Henry Quinn

Word. Be sure to keep us updated. My dad’s a vet and getting started on a Squarespace site so I’m excited to see what you get up to.

Thread Thread
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

Definitely. Working with APIs and Node right now so trying to come up with something cool in that aspect for right now. Who knows what will come of it.

Collapse
 
ender_minyard profile image
ender minyard • Edited

Hi everyone! This is my first Hacktoberfest.

Testing is pretty intimidating to people, even developers with years of experience, so I want to make a testing-for-beginners tool. I want to create a plug and play command line tool that anyone can put in the test command for npm if they have nothing there.

I don't have a repo, just an idea :-)

Collapse
 
vickilanger profile image
Vicki Langer

I'd love for that to exist. Testing is one of the things I haven't done and really want to

Collapse
 
prakh_r profile image
Prakhar Yadav

I will ✋ This will be my 2nd Hacktoberfest. In the 1st one I was introduced to the world of open source. This time I wish to work on some C++ repos(which are very very hard to find) and I have started learning JavaScript so I wish I could find something that's beginner friendly and doable.

Collapse
 
afairlie profile image
Ariane

First time contributing to Hacktoberfest 🙋‍♀️

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

🙋

This will be my third year. It is always fun to participate and collaborate with other developers.

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Second year! I'm super excited!

Collapse
 
youssefrabeiii profile image
Youssef Rabei • Edited

First time for me 🤞

Collapse
 
trackrunner profile image
Laszlo Toth

Hello everybody,

I am looking forward to contributing to Hacktoberfest first time ever :)
I learn some basics of Android Development in my free time and I hope I can add some value to one or more open-source projects.
The main reason to do it:

  • I don't want to regret years later why I didn't try it out. Or regret why I didn't participate earlier :)
  • I believe, teamwork is more successful than individual performance. Hopefully, both of us will learn something new.

Good luck everyone

Collapse
 
chaycesol profile image
Chayce Solchaga

My first time! Forcing myself to do this because I am a new dev who is learning and hope this gives me more confidence about working with others and collaborating on awesome things!

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

I am!
I hope also my repos get some PR (I still have to update the issues though).
You can find them here.

Collapse
 
dephraiim profile image
Ephraim Atta-Duncan

It will be fun to and besides, why wouldn't you want to participate.

Collapse
 
cipharius profile image
Valts Liepiņš

Hey!

This will be my third Hacktoberfest. In fact, I actually found out about DEV community from previous Hacktoberfest events!

It has been real fun dedicating previous Octobers' to contribute to the tools that I rely on the most and I'm looking forwards the upcoming Hacktoberfest!

Oh and by the way, really love the previous year t-shirts, I make sure to sport them regularly!

Collapse
 
avijit1998 profile image
Avijit Nanda

My third fest this time. Excited.