DEV Community

Dirk Hoekstra
Dirk Hoekstra

Posted on

I build a Website Screenshot API, curious what you guys think!

It started with me trying to figure out how to control a headless browser in Javascript. A few weeks later I had crafted a full SaaS application

I created a writeup on how I did it here

ScreenshotAPI.net Homepage

I'm curious what you guys think about it, would love some feedback!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ajones_codes profile image
Andrew Jones

Pretty cool! One suggestion though, you should turn off autocorrect and spellcheck on the url input on the landing page :)

Collapse
 
dirk94 profile image
Dirk Hoekstra

Ah, great suggestion, done and done :)

Collapse
 
jalaj profile image
Jalaj

I didn't knew we can turn those off...Can you show how?

Collapse
 
ajitzero profile image
Ajit Panigrahi

This one’s a good resource for that (pretty much the first Google result 😅):

davidwalsh.name/disable-autocorrect

Thread Thread
 
ajones_codes profile image
Andrew Jones

Yup I was going to share the same one!

Collapse
 
edent profile image
Terence Eden

Great service! The default filenames seem to be random characters - and I couldn't work out how to change them. Can I suggest making the filename similar to the URL? Maybe with a timestamp to prevent duplication?

Collapse
 
jdcauley profile image
Jordan Cauley • Edited

{url_name}.{radom_token}.ext is often a solid simple way to go

Token could be an md5 of the file contents

Collapse
 
dirk94 profile image
Dirk Hoekstra

Thanks for the suggestion, after thinking about it I agree that the random character filenames aren't the most user-friendly. I updated the system to use {url_name}-{random_token} 🚀