DEV Community

Pascal Dennerly
Pascal Dennerly

Posted on

Learning Frontend as a Backend dev

Hey all, I thought I'd pull the community for tips on learning Frontend development.

I've been writing backend software in various forms for many, many years now. Even so, Frontwnd feels magical and scary.

It's definitely a skill I'm missing, but I wouldn't know where to start now.

Has anyone done this particular journey? Any tips?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

I am also in your situation currently. What I did is starting off with freecodecamp. Did their intro courses to HTML, CSS and vanilla js. Once I felt comfortable working with the three, I gradually started using vue.js as my frontend library, currently still trying to make all this work and improve my skills. Hats off to all frontend devs, I used to think it was all fun and games until I began writing frontend code. Lol.

Collapse
 
dnnrly profile image
Pascal Dennerly • Edited

Oh no, I definitely know it's not trivial.

I've done some amazing C++ template stuff, written JCAs, lead CICD strategies etc. I have technical chops.

Frontend is intimidating!

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

Extremely intimidating.
I'm a backend too.

Nice talking to you and all the best in your frontend learning path :)

Collapse
 
dnnrly profile image
Pascal Dennerly

Actually, I just gave FCC a quick go. It's pretty neat - thanks!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Someone asked a similar question in r/reactjs subreddit.

Should I start with FCC ("FCC" -> Free Code Camp) javascript course prior to starting React?

I have about 4 years of Python and C++ experience but 0 front end experience besides HTML/CSS

FCC is a good way to get started with programming but you'd find many frontend courses easy to follow.