DEV Community

Cover image for How Are You Doing in this Covid19 time?
Domenico Solazzo
Domenico Solazzo

Posted on

How Are You Doing in this Covid19 time?

I had so many ideas for the next post, for the next YouTube video, for the making of my new website, for that side project that I loved so much...

The reality is that I have no mental energy for that.

I am here in the middle of Oslo (Norway) thinking about all the things that are happening in my beautiful country: Italy 🇮🇹.
Image

So worried about my family and all the people in my country.

I cannot go there.
I cannot do anything from here if not video calls to cheer up my family.

I always advocate not focusing on what is not in your own control if you want to live a happy life.

For the first time in my life, I feel that this virus, which is outside my control, is making me feel powerless. I can't stop thinking about what is happening and when all of this will finish.
Image

I just wish all of this to finish soon...

It is not the article I hoped for, sorry for my rant.
Wash your hands, stay safe and at home. Wherever you are in the world.

We are going to win this one!

Tell me: How are you coping with life at the moment?

Leave a comment and let me know your thoughts about it 💓

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
clairec profile image
Claire Collins

Hey Domenico. I am in the UK. I have been reading about Italy, and watching videos over the last week or so, of how the virus has developed there. It must be very distressing for you watching it from afar and feeling useless and helpless to do anything. Here in the UK the situation is beginning to get far worse and it is said that we are approximately 14 days behind Italy in terms of how the virus is spreading and taking lives.
It is a very sad and desperate time for the whole world. I am staying in with my 3 boys and trying to keep our spirits up. We play games and listen to music. I have explained a little to them but they are so young and I do not wish to frighten them, they are already worried. We are staying strong together.
I hope you remain well and I wish love and safety for your family in Italy. To you too dear Domenico.
Today is mothers day and I could not even go and see my mother and hug her. It is just not worth the risk.
Love to you, your family and the whole world right now as we take each day and pray for an end to this soon. Be strong and know you are not alone ❤❤❤❤❤

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Hey Claire,

thanks for your words ❤

The situation is not easy in Italy as well as in the rest of the world.
Honestly, I did not talk to my little one about the virus but only explaining why we need to wash our hands often!

I wish you and your family to stay well and stay strong!

You are not alone! ❤❤

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

My state of New York is on the verge of becoming the global epicenter. It's pretty scary. Definitely sending lots of thoughts to folks in Italy who have just seen such a devastating death toll.

I personally have a decently comfortable home situation, with little work disruption from my remote life so just taking it day by day.

My family is definitely wanting me to come home to Canada where things are much better contained, but it's not so simple with my partner's parents nearby in New York.

I don't live right in New York City proper, but one of my brothers does. Just hoping for the best with everything.

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Hey Ben,

I could see the situation in New York on CNN.
Crazy how the number of infected people is rising in that area of the country.

I really hope no country will repeat what has happened to Italy in the last month.
Stay safe Ben and let me know how is going in New York!

Collapse
 
ale_annini profile image
Alessandro Annini • Edited

Hi Domenico,
I am in Falconara Marittima (An), Italy.
I am a little paranoid: I am locked at home since 2 weeks before it was mandatory.
I am a developer: I have been spending my days writing code for years, as freelance too so, I suffered the change of lifestyle a lot less then every friend of mine.

This means I can talk beyond the #iorestoacasa #stayathome thing, because I don't feel affected by this.
As you say, a lot of energies are drained by this, it's like having part of the brain always busy about something that slows you down.
I am lucky because I have a lot of work to do, this helps me to stay focused on something I feel satisfaction for and helps me to keep my cashflow alive. The most part of everyone I know is not this lucky and stays at home without work and consuming their holidays, others will have their pay provided by Italian welfare, like, we hope, my wife.

I find the hardest part of this thinking constantly about my family and hoping they won't take risks. They live a few kilometers away from me so today I will go shopping for me and for them.. I don't know how long it will take or how much weight it will be but I would do anything to make them stay at home.

At least our government, one of the oldest, slowest, sloppiest of the universe (I mean this not just for the current one, but every single one of them), this time was fairly reactive and is providing good measures.
What I like about this is the fact that, for once, the government is on the same page as everybody else and showed honest concern and humanity. Things, those, that I cannot say about other Countries that planned no lock down until today (literally, uk) or have private health only. That will be a massacre.

Another concern of mine is about what happens later... because "misfortunes never come alone" maybe troika will take over this Country like in Greece before, maybe "finance" will bury us all, we always risked it anyway.

Yesterday and today stats are improving we hope ignorant people won't ruin this trend going too soon.

Take care Domenico, have faith, in Italy we are fighting like hell and people working in the hospitals are nothing short of amazing, it's really heart breaking what they are doing risking their health working all day and all night long.

Take care you all, don't take any chance: your life or the life of your loved ones depends on it.
Never go outside, if you must, cover your mouth and eyes if possible, use gloves, disinfect everything as soon you come home, including shoes and clothes with something spray. At home and in common areas of your condo disinfect railings, light switches and handles almost every day.
Wash very well your hands and face several time a day.

HAVE HEART, USE YOUR BRAIN!

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Man, what else can I say? I just hear what my family says to me and the situation is terrible.

Stay strong and I hope all this nightmare will finish soon. I am with you with my mind and heart!

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

How are you coping with life at the moment?

Collapse
 
niksolaz profile image
Nicola Solazzo

Hi Domenico
I stay at Home ( #iorestoacasa.com )

Collapse
 
domenicosolazzo profile image
Domenico Solazzo

Good thing to do in this time!! :D