DEV Community

Cover image for Day 632 : One of Them Days
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 632 : One of Them Days

liner notes:

  • Professional : Whew... today was one of them days. So, I'm somehow involved in 3 different projects that need to be done ASAP! Great.... One was a project I was waiting for a review to be done and that was completed last week while I was in New York at a conference. There wasn't too much to do since I pretty much did all the work months ago. Just had to merge the repo and do a new release. Cool. Last week, again, while in New York, I was given two tasks simultaneously that needed to be done ASAP (like 1 - 3 weeks). One is a migration guide from a competitor's service to our service, but they weren't exactly sure what exact features they wanted migrated. Awesome. This week, we had some meetings to see if they could narrow down what they are looking for. Now, the competitor only has a couple of projects available and both are super convoluted and using a lot of different libraries. Definitely what I would call "quick starters". haha I've been slowly piecing together a barebones project that can solely focus on what needs to be changed out without all the extra stuff. The other needed ASAP project was "fixing" a set of React components that haven't been touched in years! I couldn't even get the sample app running on my local computer. Said something about python. So, I skipped the sample app and created a simpler app and got it running on the Web. There were so many deprecation warnings. There was no "fixing" this, it would have to be recreated from scratch. That would take a lot of time and effort to do. If a team of people let the components get stale for years, how can I, by myself, get it done in a couple of weeks. And even if I did, all that effort for the components to only work in React and then be broken when React changes something again. I immediately thought of Web Components. So I built proof of concept Web Components that basically did what the React components did in under a week, again while in New York at a conference. I even got the Web Components integrated in Vanilla JS, React, Angular and Vue demo apps. So with the value proven in my mind and talking with my manager, this week (while trying to do the other stuff), I made official versions of the Web Components, got the GitHub repo ready, wrote up documentation on the components and created a basic React demo app using the components with documentation on how to make it work. Oh and there's a one click deploy to see the Web Components in action in the demo app, so you don't even need to put the demo app onto your local machine to see it working. I'm finalizing all this stuff and someone asks if we'll be able to meet the deadline with the migration project. Told them as long as I get these other 2 done, it shouldn't be a problem. Then they started questioning using Web Components. Well, I told them, if I have to, by myself, recreate the long since abandoned React components that there is no ASAP and that it will take some time and a lot of effort. At this point, I'm basically done. I did what I said I would do, even before the already tight deadline. If they want to keep making the same mistake, I don't want any parts of it. I don't understand that if it's such a high priority, how did they let it get stale for even before I got here. Ask one of the many contributors to the project. I gave an alternative solution that will work in many other places. It's up to them and I'll decide whether I want to be a part of it any longer. I'm not going to be rushed and stressed out only to create and maintain something that has limited use cases when there's a better, more straight-forward option that can be used in multiple places. And plus I have other random people asking me about the migration project, that they still haven't even really been specific on what they want! haha

  • Personal : Last night, I went through some tracks on Bandcamp and watched new episodes of "She-Hulk", "Atlanta" and one episode of "The Walking Dead" to try and catch up.

The coast of Quepos, Costa Rica looking into the ocean over some trees and a house in the corner at sunset

Pretty much started my weekend late because I was finishing up some stuff for work. Going to put together the radio show and maybe watch an episode or two of "The Walking Dead". Really don't think I can even look at any code tonight. haha.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
infin8t profile image
infin8T

Hope your day gets better. This is pretty cool to see what it is like to be a developer, I want all the tea lol the good and bad. I want to be able to call myself a developer one day. I want to create something really cool. Cheers! Please keep sharing. I'm enjoying this a lot.

Collapse
 
dwane profile image
HIPHOP and CODE

Thanks. Just seeing your message. I just post stuff and don't think people read it. haha
In my opinion, if you type some code into a computer and a thing happens, I think you're a developer. haha Just figure out what you want to build, set a vague starter plan and start. You can figure out stuff along the way.