DEV Community

Cover image for First commit
Fernando
Fernando

Posted on

First commit

Hello there!

This is my first post at dev.to, where I find that will be a good fit to log my journey through engineering.

Firstly, let me introduce myself: I'm Fernando, working as a Product Manager (a role that I've been in since 2012), but before that, I started as a developer, with PHP and JavaScript, a time when you have to be a full stack (we never call ourselves a full stack, just developers).

I saw the rise of jquery, PHP frameworks such as Cake, Code Igniter... The birth of nodejs, and so on...

But, something has changed 3 years ago...

I always love to be close to the developers, in such a way that I was facilitating some technical discussions, giving some ideas, and helping other engineers on how to discuss with PMs to prioritize technical debts.

Then, DevEx (or DX - Developer Experience) happened (or we started to talk about it), and suddenly, I was involved even close to engineering teams, studying DevOps, Accelerate, DORA, team topologies, AWS...

I think this was a sign to rethink my career.

And right now, I really know what I want, so I'm trying to get back to engineering.

My first commit

To restarting, I pushed my first project with node.js, a simple, under-construction one. You can see here.

As I said, this project is under development, I need to refactor everything since I just sat on my desk and started writing.

I have some "to dos" and improvements in my backlog, such as: using Git Hub Projects API or Trello, showing estimations using historical data, and whatever came to my mind.

If you have some feedbacks about my project, let me know and thanks in advance!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
terieyenike profile image
teri • Edited

Hi Fernando,
A few things you need to clarify and fix:

  • Did you JavaScript in the paragraph "I started out as a developer with PHP..."
  • Check this sentence "To make a starting point, I pushed my first project with node.js, a simple, under-construction one." Rewrite it.

Thanks

Collapse
 
effelima profile image
Fernando

Thanks, Teri.

I corrected the paragraphs you mentioned.

If you have more feedback, let me know!

Collapse
 
terieyenike profile image
teri

That's good. But remember to use the right convention for naming. It should be JavaScript not javaScript.

Also, I think you should install Grammarly to help you catch error and give you suggestions when writing.

I hope this helps.

Thread Thread
 
effelima profile image
Fernando

Yeah, right.

Actually I use Grammarly, and after all the corrections and suggestions, I posted. 😆