DEV Community

Cover image for Introducing Escape the Wave. My Exciting New Game!
Emilien Leroy
Emilien Leroy

Posted on • Originally published at blog.emilienleroy.fr

Introducing Escape the Wave. My Exciting New Game!

Last week, I officially released my first game, Falling Square, which marked a great milestone for me. However, the serious work now begins. This week, I'm starting development on my second game, Escape the Wave. It will be a simple shooting game with some surprises (which I'll keep secret for now). The game will be available on Android and iOS, like my first game, and may also be available on Windows, Linux, and macOS.

Virtual Joysticks for Player Movement

I've made my first addition to the game by incorporating the player and their movements. To cater to mobile devices, I've added a virtual joystick that enables users to move the player. I've also added another virtual joystick for rotation. Both virtual joysticks were developed by MarcoFazioRandom and can be found under the name "Virtual-Joystick-Godot" on GitHub at this link: https://github.com/MarcoFazioRandom/Virtual-Joystick-Godot."

move

Implementation of Player Shooting Mechanism

Next, I added the bullet and player shooting functionality. Currently, it's just a simple white ball without any textures, but there will likely be various types of bullets with unique effects in the future. To shoot, use the rotation joystick. Rotating the joystick will automatically trigger a shot.

fire

Addition of First Wall and Camera Implementation

Finally, I've added the first wall using a simple tileset, as well as a camera that follows the player. When a bullet hits a wall, it is automatically destroyed. The camera and wall serve as the first elements in creating a visually appealing and functional environment for the game.

walls

What's next

In the first week of development, I successfully laid the foundation for my new game. Building upon this solid foundation, I plan to add the first enemy in the upcoming week. This will bring the game one step closer to completion and provide players with a new challenge to overcome. I am eager to continue working on this project and can't wait to see how it evolves in the coming weeks.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Looks fun. Not sure if I can explain why, but it reminds me a bit of classic Atari (not any specific game just the feel of games from that era). And since I was a kid in the '80s, that's really cool.