DEV Community

Fayaz Ahmed
Fayaz Ahmed

Posted on

Writing from the hospital and bored, suggest me something to do

It's been 4 days since I had touched my computer and honestly, I have never been this bored in my entire life. This is not what I meant when I said I needed a break.

I got hospitalised recently and haven't left the room in 3 days. Hospitals suck, the food sucks, it's depressing and gets quite spooky at nights.

People call me a workaholic and I might be. I am not sure what I am even supposed to do sitting idle for this long.

My friends suggested me to chill and watch Netflix, I tried but it gets boring at some point. I am sure I am going to reach the end of my Twitter feed sometime today 😅.

So, #devcommunity please suggest something you'd do to utilise this time. I like writing, but I cannot write a lot due to the drip.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
raphael_jambalos profile image
Raphael Jambalos • Edited

Read Science Fiction! My favorites are Dune by Frank Herbert and Foundation by Isaac Asimov.

Hope you get well soon!

Collapse
 
fayaz profile image
Fayaz Ahmed

Dune is one my fav books, read it years ago.

Will try the Isaac Asimov one

Collapse
 
maureento8888 profile image
Maureen T'O • Edited

Are you a podcast listener? I recommend DEVDiscuss, dev.to's own community podcast. They talk about lots of great stuff! Or the Enjoy the Vue podcast is a cool one too 😄

Get well soon!

Collapse
 
rushannotofficial profile image
Rushan S J

Hey, try gaming. Try fortnite for example.

Collapse
 
fayaz profile image
Fayaz Ahmed

Thanks, checking it out

Collapse
 
akhil9tiet profile image
Akhil Gupta

Hey can you take my architecture review request. What I am planning to build and learn as well on the side.

So I do not know springboot but want to learn. So I am planning to build a simple GET reddit r/memes into AWS S3 and POST them on Instagram. I wanna deploy on EC3 buckets. I want to build other services as well. For example commenting on top comments. If instagram blocks a post, remove it but that is for futute. But do you think, this is a good architecture.

Collapse
 
amankumarsingh01 profile image
A

Login to frontendmasters.com

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

Meditation and writing. Another thought is taking timeliness to the extreme.

Another thing I hope I do more, is reading.