DEV Community

Cover image for Updates to TLS in the foreseeable future
Fernando
Fernando

Posted on

Updates to TLS in the foreseeable future

This is a #watercooler post because I'm not sharing any news about future updates to TLS πŸ˜…. I'm actually interested in knowing if anyone here is aware of any major updates to the protocol in the foreseeable future.

I've been thinking about tattoo ideas for a while. I'm not a "meaningful story behind my tattoo" person, I'm going for something punny instead.

I have this play of words idea that includes something about the TLS protocol actual implementation. It's got to do with the handshake part of the protocol (it's going in my forearm).

The reason I'm asking is to double check and avoid doing this tattoo if there already is a Work in Progress on the replacement or major update (1.4? 2.0?) for TLS that I'm not aware.

I know that 10, 20 or 30 years from now it's almost certainly not going to be in use, but it will be a cool memory of this era. If you are aware of anything about this let me know in the comments! πŸ˜„

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
maestromac profile image
Mac Siri

Having TLS handshake protocol tattooed to your forearm!? that's such a smart idea hahaha

Collapse
 
fdocr profile image
Fernando

I think it’s a SchrΓΆdinger idea, both smart and dumb at the same time πŸ˜‚