DEV Community

gustavo ascencio
gustavo ascencio

Posted on

Project restructure

Hey, so I'm in a bit of a pickle at work. I joined this project that's a total mess. It's like a dumpster fire, but somehow it still works. The clients are not happy though, it's too slow and breaks all the time. Everyone is scrambling to fix bugs in production. I came up with a list of ideas to improve things, like removing old code, adding comments, using TypeScript, unit testing, Prettier, ESLint, Husky, code reviewing, and better deployment pipelines. I've used these before, but I don't know how to set them up. I feel like I could step up and become a team lead or something, but I'm not sure how. It's like the saying goes, "In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king." What do you think I should do?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
martinbaun profile image
Martin Baun

I think you should try it out, worse comes to worst, you'll have learned something. If not, you'll be the hero! Whats there to lose?