DEV Community

Cover image for Not Day One: Where do I start?
Gabriella Guerra
Gabriella Guerra

Posted on

Not Day One: Where do I start?

It's not like I have no clue of what I'm doing, but really, where do I start?

It feels weird to start from scratch, but maybe it means I get to teach my brain again how to study, and it gives me a new opportunity to see things with fresh eyes. Right?

Learning it's hard when you don't really have someone to guide you, and in programming specifically it can be tough to find good teachers. There are some YouTube channels I do recommend, as they've been very helpful, like Tech with Tim and Programming with Mosh, I'm a huge fan. Also, Fireship makes this short and quick videos with funny and ironic takes that brings programming closer to what our brains understand the most.

Another way to learn that I had no idea existed are roadmaps. Roadmaps give you a lot more structure to start, and one I specially like is Roadmap.sh. They have tons of roadmaps, both made by their team and community roadmaps. I'm currently using the one specifically for backend development, but you can also find DevOps, Databases, Frontend… They also have an AI tool to create your own roadmap with a little help.

Not only all that, recently Roadmap.sh came up with a new feature: Projects. They give you a lot of ideas for projects from beginner to advanced so that you can enhance your portfolio while you put to practice what you've been learning from the roadmaps. I personally love this tool, as I usually suck coming up with new ideas, and it really helps to have somewhere to start.

I really recommend this tools if you, like me, have just started to navigate through the developing sea. And if you have tips, I'm all ears! Let's make this a community where we all can learn together.

Top comments (0)