DEV Community

Git
Git

Posted on

Career Advice...

Hi all,

So currently I'm working in an MNC as a mainframe developer but I don't like my technology and also my workplace is getting toxic so I can't work there anymore.
I want to go for DevOps but other companies are asking of experience in DevOps (including startups) which I don't have currently.
I have started with docker and some other tools, but I'm stuck and I'm not able to figure out what to do next.
So if someone can help or guide me, please do comment below.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
harigopal profile image
Hari Gopal

Hi there! I think you might find this helpful:

github.com/kamranahmedse/developer...

You'll probably want to pay attention to the DevOps roadmap.

Just like front-end and back-end work, DevOps is quite a large field, and there's always something new to learn. Keep at it! 👍🏽

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (🚀 Open Up The Cloud ☁️)

Came here to post this 😂

Collapse
 
sigmapie8 profile image
Manav

I used to work on Mainframes in CTS. In fact, I was trained for PL/SQL but got a Mainframe project where learnt everything on the job.

Although the people here have given some amazing advices. I'd say, talk to your seniors and discuss how can you get a project change in different technology. Also, work on your skills side by side - pick a roadmap and keep upgrading yourself.

Either you'll get a new tech in the same company or you might be abe to switch.

Collapse
 
git11 profile image
Git

I would like to know more about how you got out of it because I can't find any way out of it currently.
Let's connect somewhere if is possible.

Collapse
 
sigmapie8 profile image
Manav

Sure! We can talk in DM.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

Follow the DevOps road map based upon the types of job or industry you would like to be part of.

Understand that DevOps is a organization transformation process. Everyone has to embrace the culture & ethos for it to work.

The buck does not stop on just the DevOps team. Instead it is the whole organization's job on how to provision servers, automate, increase number of deployment frequency and making it available for your users or client to use.

Lastly start reading Site Reliability Engineer, The Phoenix Project, DevOps Handbook which gives you a general understanding without being too detail in the tools you need.

Collapse
 
git11 profile image
Git

Hey,
Thanks for your insights.
I'll start reading those books you mentioned.

Collapse
 
drm317 profile image
Daniel Marlow • Edited

Find yourself a mentor such as those at mentors.codingcoach.io
....oh, and practice, practice, practice.

Collapse
 
git11 profile image
Git

This looks awesome, I'll definitely give it a try
Thank you!