DEV Community

Cover image for Danger: keep order in your PRs
Giuliano1993
Giuliano1993

Posted on

Danger: keep order in your PRs

Good morning everyone and good MonDEV!

I hope you had a good first weekend of June!
Recently, I found myself gathering all the various knowledge I had about the open-source world to prepare a small talk, and this led me to discover or come across some interesting tools that can help in managing our open-source projects. We have already seen in the past how to create specific bots to manage our repos, but we have never focused on tools built specifically for optimal management of the PRs we receive.

That's why today I thought of introducing you to Danger, a very interesting tool also among those directly recommended by GitHub for managing your projects.

What is it about? First of all, let's start by saying that this library exists in 5 languages, so you can use the version you prefer to manage your project: JS, Swift, Ruby, Kotlin, and Python.

That said, what does such a pompous name aim for?

Danger helps you in managing your CI. Specifically, it allows you to perform a series of checks throughout the contribution flow.

For example, you can request the presence of a changelog change in a PR, require that a certain PR be assigned to someone before being merged, show some information about it, in order to have an overview of the new additions. In short, it's a bit like a Swiss army knife that allows you to work on all those aspects that are more difficult to control manually but essential as a project grows.

So, whether you already have it, or if you aim to have a growing Open Source project, I hope you will be willing to try this tool on one of your projects.

As always, let me know if you use it and how you find it.
Before I leave you, I remind you of the event next week in Cesena, to meet, talk a bit about development, and have some fun. I and the others will already be there from Friday so if anyone wants to join us, there are still a few spots available!

Meanwhile, have a great start to the week! As always...

Happy Coding 0_1

Top comments (0)