DEV Community

Cover image for Can I Use CLI - Compatibility within terminal's reach
Giuliano1993
Giuliano1993

Posted on

Can I Use CLI - Compatibility within terminal's reach

Good morning everyone and happy MonDEV!☕

Also this week we are ready and excited to dive into the code, assuming you haven't done so even during the weekend (and here we could almost raise our hands, you know we like to play with code in our free time 😉).

I have for you some more substantial tools that I'm keeping aside to run some in-depth tests and maybe put out a newsletter with a more detailed article!

But as we have seen many times, there are a lot of tools that are immediate in use and understanding and can be extremely useful, and the tool I propose today I believe definitely falls into this category!

I imagine all of you know Caniuse, the site where you can check the support of various elements and properties to use in your HTML and CSS. The portal is simple and intuitive, but you know what's even better? Not having to connect to the site at all and not even needing an internet connection!

Today we talk about Caniuse-CLI! Yes, another CLI tool, you know I really like them especially when they are so direct and well made. Caniuse CLI can be installed locally through the command:

npm install -g @bramus/caniuse-cli
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Once installed, just type in your terminal:

caniuse [property / element]
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

To get the same result as you would by searching on the site.
The installation downloads the archive of properties currently being used and available, as well as those that will be implemented in the near future.

As you can see, simple and straightforward, but very practical to use in any situation!

Do you plan to try it? 😁

Articles of the week

  • Are you saying that my code is boring? Thank you! A very interesting article, with the right level of irony that talks about the importance of writing clean, clear, and well-structured code, to the point of being "boring"! I came across it this week even though the article is a bit old (2020); but I must say it has aged very well!
  • The Nine Node Pillars A long article on the best practices to use in writing node applications to maintain their maintainability, written by various core contributors and members of the Node.js steering committee.

This week too it's time to close our morning coffee!
I hope I have provided you with some interesting insights, of course every feedback is always welcome!

Have a great week
Happy Coding 0_1

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
disha_verma_6d43248d99eb7 profile image
Disha Verma

I have no idea but I'm interested to hear more about CLI