DEV Community

Cover image for How do you maintain your passion?
Nočnica Mellifera for Heroku

Posted on

How do you maintain your passion?

cover image by By PumpkinSky

I'm looking for my next side project at the moment and I'd like to know what motivates you to go out and start creating your next big project.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
olegthelilfix profile image
Oleg Aleksandrov

Hmm, one month ago, I with my friend had started a new pet project. My motivation is quite simple, I like work with my friend. Also it's fun cuz I do something new. And to be honest, I don't have any another reasons to work on that project.

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

It's my job, my job keeps me focused. I don't work side projects because I need the stressors of a work environment to stay focused. If I only work hobby or side stuff I will start strong and never finish. I must have 20 projects I haven't finished spanning 20 years. I'm not kidding....

Collapse
 
13point5 profile image
Bharath Sriraam R R

To me rivalry is what keeps me going. The fact that there's someone out there better at something than I am.

Collapse
 
mattstuddert profile image
Matt Studdert

As opposed to looking to start one big project, I'd recommend starting lots of little ones across your interests/passions/skills. Build small, simple apps/ideas and then put them live. Then see which ones you find the most satisfying and also which ones seem to be filling a need for your target audience.

It's extremely motivating to see people using what you've built, so that can provide a huge boost! Best of luck with your next project 👍

Collapse
 
andreybleme profile image
Lucas Bleme • Edited

The feeling that I'm becoming better. It is very hard and I myself have struggled a bit into this thing of "I need to be passionate about building software".

I have elaborated some of my thoughts on this some time ago here:
andreybleme.com/2018-03-24/the-sha...

And most recently here:
andreybleme.com/2020-02-08/the-joy...

Hopefully it can help.

Collapse
 
cheahengsoon profile image
Eng Soon Cheah

take a short break and holidays

Collapse
 
mburszley profile image
Maximilian Burszley

Ignore "passion." There is work that needs to be done and that's the extent of the problem. Thinking you need "passion" causes you to burnout by trying to be bleeding edge when it's unnecessary.