DEV Community

Vicente G. Reyes
Vicente G. Reyes

Posted on

What is tutorial hell for you?

Here's my definition of tutorial hell:

What's yours?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
mikcat profile image
mikcat

The Amazon AWS documentation, no matter what you want to do, always links to something you had to be done before and I still haven't reached the beginning...

Collapse
 
rmaurodev profile image
Ricardo

Been there

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Using an out of date tutorial or a tutorial that in the end doesn't even work anymore.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I see. But isn't part of our job figuring out code?

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Correct, but if you then copy paste some non standard code as a beginner it made it the more confusing.

So I never follow tutorials anymore, I just search the things I need myself in the documentation of the Framework/Language.

Thread Thread
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Same, man! Cheers!

Collapse
 
rmaurodev profile image
Ricardo

Tutorial that doesn’t work anymore or never worked