DEV Community

Mohammed Ismail
Mohammed Ismail

Posted on

Medium or Dev.to which one do you prefer ?

which platform increased your skills Medium or Dev.to?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

Recently started using Dev.to i found it more relevant and easier much like Social media for techies.
Medium is only cool when you search on google and end up on medium otherwise that's not live community.

Collapse
 
mpodlasin profile image
mpodlasin

I am relatively new to dev.to, but I find it great.

I feel that it is going more towards what medium seemed to be at the beginning - open platform for posting content in an open and community-centric way.

Also, making it only for developers really brings nice focus to the website. Do I want to read tech content? Then I just visit dev.to. I never really browse Medium anymore.

Collapse
 
functional_js profile image
Functional Javascript

Psychologically I don't click on Medium.com links anymore, because of the paywall they've placed in front of articles.

I wish them the best of luck on their business model; I'm sure it fills a certain niche.

Combining a freemium and a premium model is one of the best business models to use.

The science is in deciding where to draw that line.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

Psychologically I don't click on Medium.com links anymore, because of the paywall they've placed in front of articles.

Just that.

Collapse
 
tirthaguha profile image
Tirtha Guha

In a world of Information Technology, information is of supreme value, so it absolutely makes sense to charge money for the knowledge you share. Medium is not wrong.

At the same time, we live in the world of FOSS too. So, knowledge can be free and be shared voluntarily. So, dev.to is great too.

Let the blogger chose. I prefer dev.to, because of Markdown syntax, and it is a Tech Blogging platform. Medium is a blogging platform for a variety of topics, not only Tech.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

None. Honestly, beside the obvious stackoverflow, reddit.

Yet I think dev.to is very friendly and is a better fit to build a community.

Collapse
 
katylava profile image
katy lavallee

Medium? never heard of it.

j/k Both have good content but I only end up on medium when following a link, whereas I check dev.to purposefully.

Collapse
 
shriji profile image
Shriji

DEV always, I am not even slightly encouraged to use Medium way too many trackers, forcing logins and paywall. Moreover I think it is a very bad platform for developers to put some articles there.

Collapse
 
mahendrakulkarni177 profile image
Mahendra

Dev.to