DEV Community

Cover image for Overcome Fear
Ilona Codes
Ilona Codes

Posted on

Overcome Fear

What are those things you fear so much that you cannot embrace and still yet to overcome?

For example, for me, it is putting myself out there and in front of everyone or everything. At that moment I am getting the most social anxiety.

Yes, I am trying to identify my fear, and then go ahead and face them head on because our fears are our limits only. So, I am working on that to become better day after day.

Usually, we have two options. Either we will forget everything and accept the fear, or we will face everything and rise! The choice is only on us.

However, by avoiding any challenges, we stunt our growth. When we challenge ourselves, our quality of life increases exponentially. Not only our quality of life will improve, but also we will learn more about ourselves in the process. Challenging ourselves will make us feel stronger, smarter, and happier.

Traditionally, it happens a lot when it comes to career, relationship or any specific fear - phobia - like acrophobia, claustrophobia, arachnophobia, etc. The best solution, in this case, is to challenge ourselves and resolve the situation that is making us so unhappy.

Bad job? Change a job.
No personal growth? Leave your comfort zone.
Toxic relationship? Don't gift yourself with it.
Any phobia? Ask help from a doctor.

In the end, the negativity associated with these situations will limit our potential when it comes to all areas of our life.

I believe once we resolve these situations, the result gives us a fantastic opportunity to learn and set our soul on fire πŸ”₯

Do you know your fears? Challenge them!

Do you have any fear you want to challenge tomorrow? Leave a comment below!


Photo by AarΓ³n Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I love this post. You are doing what I also struggle with. Facing your fears! I actually posted about my own fears and how it holds me back, 25 years of coding, and I'm just beginning

The response I got was amazing, and it taught me a valuable lesson, that facing your fears will lead to results. It also lets you help others who may be facing the same fears.

I added your post to my post, under the motivation section of Why you should face your fears and doubts, as a developer..

Collapse
 
lampewebdev profile image
Michael "lampe" Lazarski

Nice post!

Fear is a strong emotion!
Nothing gets your heart so fast pumping as fear!
So my strategy is not to fight fear but embrace it.
Fear for me is a good thing! It's like the north star.
When I feel it I know I'm doing something right.
I know that if I go in that direction, in the end, I will be
a better person!

It's a mind game. Your mind wants you to stay safe
but you have to tell your mind no I'm jumping now
and nothing can't stop me!

Have a nice day!

PS: I would love to eat some Currywurst from Berlin right now.

Collapse
 
joshhadik profile image
Josh Hadik

Usually, we have two options. Either we will forget everything and accept the fear, or we will face everything and rise! The choice is only on us.

Love this