DEV Community

Hyun Sung Cho
Hyun Sung Cho

Posted on • Updated on

Completing Phase 1 (JavaScript & Code Challenge)..

In the past 3 weeks after I wrote my first post in regards to my learning, I have failed to write posts every day. As I do not personally like to give out an excuse, so let a million reasons why I could have not written a single piece of writing about my learning behind and move on. This goes back to 2nd week of my phase 1 which was the most challenging, shocking, and somewhat intimidating moment during my being at Flatiron. 9 days of learning javaScript basics immensely (data type, arithmetic calculation, variable assignment, creating variables & functions, object and a special type of object called arrays, accessing data, fetching, looping, iteration, and more) spending at least 10 hours a day straight, it all came down to facing a mock-up code challenge. A code challenge consists of DOM (a programming interface for web documents representing the page so that programs can change the document structure, style, and content source: MDN) manipulation including fetching data from a JSON server or API and using event listeners to manipulate the DOM. It would cost a lie to say that I did not expect the code challenge to be a bit of a difficult problem. However, the process of me choosing this career path to become a software developer at the age of 30 and start Flatiron School Bootcamp was already a hack of a decision (more of a life-changing one) so a naive thought of me inside of my mind thinking that I made a tough and critical decision made me feel so confident and relieved in a way that I felt like I could achieve anything and eventually it led me to be blind to see the truth. The truth that making a difficult decision does not help to prevent agony coming from trying, failing, and not passing the code challenge in the first trial. To be continued...

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
areskul profile image
Areskul

Yes, the begenning is harsh! But what comes after... It's like mastering the mudras (naruto). The bases you aquire give you possibilities to create and bend the machine to your own will like nothing!!

Collapse
 
inversed profile image
Hyun Sung Cho

Thank you for a positive feedback!!