DEV Community

Cover image for Put dev.to on your resume!
Isaac Lyman
Isaac Lyman

Posted on

Put dev.to on your resume!

You can do it like this:

resume

Why? Because writing on dev.to suggests some important things about you to potential employers:

  • You do more than the bare minimum - you're thoughtful about your work.
  • You enjoy sharing knowledge. When you change jobs, you probably leave documentation behind for the person who will take your place.
  • You're a good writer. If you ask me, technical writing is 2018's most undervalued skill for software developers. Communication is at least half of what we do, and with remote work growing in popularity, writing clearly is becoming essential throughout the industry.
  • You're part of a large and active professional community. This is a force multiplier when you're working on obscure scaling problems or difficult bugs.

You might be shy about including this on your resume because you haven't gotten a hundred ❤️s or been mentioned in the dev.to newsletter. Don't worry about it. Some of the most useful and well-written posts I've seen on this site never got a lot of attention. But they helped me when I needed them, and that counts for a lot.

Oh, and while you're at it, do you have a GitHub #graveyard? Add that too. You're doing cool stuff. Make sure people know it.

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yes, 100% agree. People have been using Twitter, GitHub and LinkedIn in this regard for a while, and feeling like DEV profiles could be much better representations of people's full picture as a candidate was a big driving force in how we developed the platform in the first place.

As a matter of wonderful timing, as of today you can now also use the DEV badge via FontAwesome for personal portfolios etc.

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

That's huge, yes!

Collapse
 
abdurrahmaanj profile image
Abdur-Rahmaan Janhangeer

Hey @ben How about a resume generator?

Collapse
 
sagar profile image
Sagar • Edited

Where did you found statistics about top 7 author and total views?

I'm still curious about it.

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

Total views is a membership feature. You can see it in the dashboard.

img

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

Total views is available on your dashboard if you have a Sustaining Membership.

dashboard

I don't know if follower count is a membership feature or not. My Top 7 badge appears in my profile, in the right-hand column underneath my GitHub repos.

badges

Collapse
 
florimondmanca profile image
Florimond Manca • Edited

I haven’t put dev.to specifically on my resume, but my blogging activity definitely has its place there. Agreed with what’s been said on what it tells about your communication skills and commitment. I’ve already received messages from recruiters referring specifically to one of my blog posts, which only confirms the point! That is, if you don’t have a separate blog, dev.to is definitely a good choice — most people out their GitHub on their CV, so why not?

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy

I have this same experience. Regular blogging is a great way to gain attention.

Collapse
 
chrisvasqm profile image
Christian Vasquez

Thanks for the idea Isaac!

I was thinking about mentioning a few of my most popular posts on my resume, but your example is way shorter and would probably fit into a single page (depending on your history).

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy

I can confirm that writing / personal blog and promoting said writing helps a person stand out from peers. Not a requirement of course, but if you want to stand out, write and promote your knowledge.

Myself, I list my professional social accounts (GitHub, StackOVerflow, Dev.to) on my resume. I really believe the "You are your own best cheerleader" mantra.

Thanks for the article Isaac.

Collapse
 
harshit97 profile image
Harshit Agarwal

Can I get that resume font/template ?

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

Sure! Email resume@isaaclyman.com and I'll send it to you.

Collapse
 
kwabenberko profile image
Kwabena Bio Berko

Sent you an email too. 😄

Collapse
 
aviaryan profile image
Avi Aryan

Where can you find those stats i.e. follower count, total views etc? I don't even see an option to see who I am following or who are my followers.

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

Total views is available on your dashboard if you have a Sustaining Membership.

dashboard

I don't know if follower count is a membership feature or not. My Top 7 badge appears in my profile, in the right-hand column underneath my GitHub repos.

badges

Collapse
 
aviaryan profile image
Avi Aryan

Thanks, I can find the follower/following list now.

Collapse
 
bzdata profile image
Beatriz

I'll be on the lookout!

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Great post!

Do you feel dev.to writing has a place on a Linkedin profile as well? Would you put it under 'Publications', 'Projects', 'Volunteer Experience', somewhere else?

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

I have put this under Volunteer Experience although it could as well be under Projects. I think Publications is better suited for peer-reviewed academic articles which DEV does not publish (as of now).

Looks nice on my profile as well!

Volunteer

Collapse
 
whokilledkevin profile image
kevin_kevin

What a great idea :)

Collapse
 
josegonz321 profile image
Jose Gonzalez

Not all companies/hiring managers/recruiters are involved online. Most still ask for paper resume.

If you network, the paper resume is just a formality for HR (in USA).

Collapse
 
geshan profile image
Geshan Manandhar

There should be a free trial of the membership subscription like first-week free :).

Collapse
 
dmytrohoi profile image
Hoi Dmytro

I think it's interesting expiriense.
Need more test on a HR's and Employeer's. 🤓

Collapse
 
hdlinhit95 profile image
Lin

Thanks for your idea!
I think the young as me should actively participate in the communication like this to get more and more knowledge and experiences.

Collapse
 
isaacdlyman profile image
Isaac Lyman

I have a dev story, but so far nobody's asked for it. Recruiters still request my resume.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.