DEV Community

Jack Flannery
Jack Flannery

Posted on

Hello World

Hello developers of the world, I’m Jack Flannery, a software dev from New Jersey who decided to start a blog. I’ve been making a living doing web development for over a decade, but I still learn new things most days. So, I’d like to use this space to document some of the knowledge I’ve picked up. From what I understand, it leaks out of the brain through the ears if nothing is done with it.

What do I plan to write about? One thing I think a lot about these days is how there are approximately infinity frameworks, languages, and platforms for building applications. JavaScript fatigue is real. I have a lot of experience with React, but I want to use this blog to explore other frameworks like Svelt, Vue, and Angular. I’m particularly interested in meta frameworks like NextJS, Remix, SveltKit, and Nuxt. And when it comes to the back end, there are even more decisions. What language, which framework? Do you run your own server? Should you use a cloud platform? Should you go server-less? Do you host your own database or use a managed service? These questions need answers. My own blog, where I'll also be posting these articles, is made with NextJS and a Rails API. Those are just technologies I am already very familiar with at this time.

What I want to do is compare things. I want to compare frameworks, learn their pros and cons, and pick favorites. I want to develop the same app in many frameworks and compare the developer experiences. I want to mix and match front and back ends and see what happens. I want to compare bundlers like Webpack vs. Vite and concepts like REST vs. GraphQL. I plan to dive deep into how some technologies work under the hood.

If that sounds boring, I also plan on getting out of my familiar territory and exploring concepts in AI, like models and machine learning. It seems like we in tech have no choice but to try to keep up in this new world of AI; it’s not going away. I also want to have fun with physical computing and write about my IoT projects. I want to turn LEDs on and off and have the smartest home on the block. I want to dive deep into the world of web3 and blockchains. Nah, I'm just kidding about that last one, lol.

I want to explore these questions and write down what I learn so it’s not lost forever. I want this to be the first of many posts. I want to make writing a habit. I want this blog to have a long life. If this sounds interesting, stay tuned.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

Welcome to the dev.to family, I'm looking forward to seeing some of your bundler deep dives ☺️

Collapse
 
jackf profile image
Jack Flannery

Thank you!

Collapse
 
scorcism profile image
Abhishek Pathak

Welome buddy 🍕

Collapse
 
jackf profile image
Jack Flannery

Thank you!

Collapse
 
alxwnth profile image
Alex

Hey there! Looking forward to your new posts!

Collapse
 
jackf profile image
Jack Flannery

Thanks Alex!