DEV Community

Jack Harner πŸš€
Jack Harner πŸš€

Posted on

What Else Does This Landing Page Need?

I'm working on the Rewards Program landing page for work, and I'm curious what Dev.to thinks it needs or what could be better, etc.

My Thoughts

  • Instead of having a "Sign Up" and "Sign In" button that have equal weight, just having a "Sign Up" button with an "Already Have An Account? Sign In" Link under it.

  • Including a slider of cards that include the things you can earn points for and what you can redeem points for.

  • FAQ section.

Any other suggestions/comments?

Thank you for your time and feedback.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand • Edited

Maybe this is not the answer you were expecting, but I would start asking what else this landing Page don't need?

A landing should be designed around one (and only one) actionable goal. What do you want to acomplish? Sign ups? Traffic for another site?

Are all the elements (visual & copy) aligned with your goal? Do the landing convey the message that you want your visitors to understand?

I think you are doing a really good job, but need to focus in asking different questions.

(Sorry for spelling!)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Instead of having a "Sign Up" and "Sign In" button that have equal weight, just having a "Sign Up" button with an "Already Have An Account? Sign In" Link under it.

I like this thought. Design-wise I also feel like these buttons are just a bit too close to the surrounding text. Adding a few pixels of margin would help the spacing.

I also feel like more pictures of shoes would probably make sense. As a visitor I feel like this is more the symbology I'm looking for than the coins. If I want to shut off my brain and skim this page for meaning, I think it needs shoes.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner πŸš€

Lovely advice, Ben.

Switching the buttons and adding some padding now.

I definitely agree with your Shoes comment. I guess I was just a little too proud of how my coins turned out. I think I'll replace the coins on the Redeem card to be a shoe illustration of some sort and look into other places to include that kind of imagery.

Maybe include a selection of "Here's how many points you'll earn for different Best-Selling Products"? Demonstrating the value of the rewards program and also driving them towards purchasing.