DEV Community

Cover image for Channeling Your Superpower
Jeffrey Fate
Jeffrey Fate

Posted on

Channeling Your Superpower

I recently stumbled on Matthew Pollard's book on marketing for introverts. This is the second in his introvert series, the first is on sales. I will definitely get that book, but this one is a better starting point.

You can't get sales (or interviews) if you don't have leads. You can't get good leads without marketing. Does Matthew's introverted marketing strategy hold up?

A Couple Of Clarifying Questions

  • Why is this relevant for dev.to?

For me, marketing myself is something I've never been good at. I'm sure there are at least a few others like me who can benefit from an approach specifically for introverts.

  • What is an introvert?

There are a lot of definitions thrown around, but I agree with Matthew's: someone who gains more energy (or recharges) alone.

Check out my last article on Chapter 1 if you haven't already:

Chapter 2: Channeling Your Superpower

This chapter is all about introspection. Most people with jobs or businesses can't say they love what they do. If you take the time to know yourself, being passionate about how you help others is actually attainable.

Do What You Love, Love What You Do

Finding and remembering your passion and mission will get you excited when you network with others. It is like finding a superpower. Spend the time to discover your passion. If you don't, eventually you burn out or lose interest. Connect it with what you do or what you want to be doing.

The Bull-Riding Insurance Salesman

Matthew uses the story of his client, the bull-riding insurance salesman, to show how you can find your passion. Dig down and find the spark by repeatedly asking "why" to all your answers to "why do you do what you do?". Eventually, that surfaces a real reason which is a deep part of you.

Put All Your Eggs In One Basket

You might have multiple passions. I know I do. It doesn't do you much good in business though. Trying to fulfill multiple passions will only confuse people and you won't land the right customers or interviews.

Lighting Your Fire

Understand why you care. Take Elon Musk as an example and see his reaction during the first successful Falcon Heavy launch. Answer these three questions to find the fuel that will take you to new heights:

  1. What one thing do you want to see happen, improve, change, or stop happening in the world?
  2. Why do you care?
  3. What's the driving passion behind it?

To get past a block, ask yourself

  • Why did I choose this career, job, or business?
  • What personal stories connect me to it?
  • At work, what do I get my joy from?
  • What makes time fly?
  • What do I hate seeing happen to customers, coworkers, etc?
  • What do I love seeing customers, coworkers, etc. experience?
  • What are my favorite types of problems to solve?

These questions might seem unnecessary, but taking the time to find the answers will change your life for the better.

Commentary

Passion doesn't usually point you toward success. I argue that the goal is to find something that you can become passionate about. However, if you are already passionate about something, and it is also a business driver, bonus!

Definitely pick up the book to get all the great customer stories Matthew tells. They really solidify his point and make this approach to networking more real.

Next Time: Niching (You Can't Please Everyone)

Thanks for reading! If you're interested in more ways to make your time count, follow me on Twitter.

Top comments (0)