DEV Community

Cover image for What's your next career goal?
Jeffrey Fate
Jeffrey Fate

Posted on

What's your next career goal?

Do you have a goal?

Usually, we set these with our managers...quarterly or yearly or something.

What's one you're working toward that is really important to you?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I went from being a developer who had a broader skillset and have been able to combine my technical skills with other things I do to be a founder/org leader... This has been fulfilling, but at this point I'm seeking to scope down my career to have a more definable area of expertise for longterm growth.

In doing so, I'm seeking balance, but that's not the kind of thing you can wave a magic wand at.

Collapse
 
jeffreyfate profile image
Jeffrey Fate

Makes sense!

What's your first step toward niching down?

Collapse
 
oniichan profile image
yoquiale

Land a first job I like

Collapse
 
jeffreyfate profile image
Jeffrey Fate

What are you looking for in a first job?

Collapse
 
oniichan profile image
yoquiale

A company that uses vue.js or any other library/framework I like.

Collapse
 
jeffreyfate profile image
Jeffrey Fate

Mine is to become the point person to help with developer experience.

Whether that be adding observability tools, making builds run faster, or improve collaboration.