DEV Community

Jen Chan
Jen Chan

Posted on

What's a song that illustrates your coding journey?

For me it's the PokΓ©mon theme song. When people ask why I'm not doing something I'm already good at, I tell them I just feel like Ash Ketchum.

Well, I don't need to be "the very best that no one ever was", but I want to be the best version of me πŸ˜€

What's yours?

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Getting into software development for me was a big step in my life, and I didn't have a lot of clarity before that.

I literally took a ~28 hour train ride to New York City with no job lined up, no money and only the idea that there was something out there for me now that I had this skill.

On that note, this song is how I felt:

The subject matter in the song is much heavier than what I was dealing with, but in terms of the journey, this is metaphorically big for me.

Collapse
 
jenc profile image
Jen Chan

Thanks for sharing. I have been listening to this and it is a very relatable song. And I had no idea that this was Tracey Chapman after hearing it in so many bookstores and cafes.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Hahaha, that's like one of my most favourite song that I wanted to listen when I was a kid during a Saturday morning. Which probably exposed me to rock music as my favourite genre.

Anyway back to to the topic, I think to feel my whole coding journey has been a wild ride starting with my internship at the startup I'm in.

So I believe It's My Life By Bon Jovi is the song I will pick for life is an adventure by taking a risk since we have just one life.

Collapse
 
ianrathbone profile image
Ian Rathbone

I really like listening to soundtracks when I code. I think the social network and inception provide some great backdrops!

Hand covers bruise from the social network gets me started!

Collapse
 
jenc profile image
Jen Chan

I really enjoy the Tron soundtrack and also the Drive one. I can’t stand Drive the movie though.

Collapse
 
ianrathbone profile image
Ian Rathbone

Haha!! It’s a little frustrating I understand ;)

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi
Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes

For its sheer mayhem and the song title: We're Where we Were - The Voidz. Always feels like I land back where I started πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
rachelsoderberg profile image
Rachel Soderberg

Some days it felt like this kind of chaos:
chaos

Collapse
 
samanthaberk profile image
samanthaberk

This is the song that plays in my head whenever my code doesn't compile or my tests fail :P

Collapse
 
qzsg profile image
Adrian

As a newbie dev I've coded lots of probably hard to maintain code over the years, but they do work when they need to. So probably Leave out all the rest - Linkin Park