DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

For standing desk owners, how do you manage your sit/stand schedule?

Do you switch between the two often? Spend half the day standing/half the day sitting? Only stand during calls? I want to know!!

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

My Apple Watch tells me when to stand. All hail the robots!

Terminator robots

Having said that, if I’m in a groove, I tend to sit down for longer periods of time and I ignore the robots.

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

I stand 100% of the time I’m coding or in meetings. I make sure to take regular breaks though to hang out with my wife and kids. I also had to do yoga and mobility work (foam rollers and lacrosse balls etc.) to undo 13 years of desk work when I first switched. Never going back!

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

I spend 80% of my time standing. At first it was not easy, but my pairing partner used to stand virtually 95% of the time so I had to keep up with him. Now it has become a habit and standing is my default coding stance.

For every 50 minutes standing up, I spend 5-10 minutes sitting/walking/stretching/light-workout.

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

I switch whenever I get tired of my current position, which is usually every 30-60 minutes. Except when I hurt my knee (happened twice in the past 12 months -.-u), then I spend most of the time sitting.

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

It depends on my mood and what I'm working on. If I'm having a lot of technical problems, I tend to sit more because my legs tend to get more tired than if I know what I'm doing. I think it's more of a "mind over matter" thing. 🀷

I do try to stand in the morning which is about 4 hours.

Collapse
 
twigman08 profile image
Chad Smith • Edited

I just ordered a sit-stand desk. I plan to be about 50-50 with it. Last time I had one i would usually stand first half of day, and sit the second half.

Though I almost always stand during calls. I don't know why I do, but 5 minutes into a call I go straight to standing.

Collapse
 
jcolag profile image
John Colagioia (he/him) • Edited

I tend to find it more comfortable to just stand, strange as it sounds. As long as I don't lock my knees and can move around a couple of times an hour, it's not nearly as tiring as it sounds. However, that may partly be because of my build, since I've had colleagues who have tried (some of whom spent years in the military and so were in far better shape than I am) and couldn't stand for much more than a few minutes at a time.

Those cushioned "anti-fatigue" mats are much more useful than they look, by the way, though they're uncomfortably warm in the summer. It also helps a lot to have something to occasionally lean back against, like a wall or a cabinet; I've also heard of (but never seen) "standing chairs," which are apparently something like a bicycle seat on a pipe, which would also take care of the leaning.

On calls, I generally pace. It keeps my legs from getting used to one position and also keeps me from ignoring the call for literally anything else I could be doing at the computer...

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

I basically stand most of the time unless my feel get tired so I sit down for a bit until I get restless lol.

But standing is my default.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

While I'm correcting these shortened hip flexors, I stand until my lower back hurts, and then I see 10–20 deep air squats and a couch stretch will let me go for longer. The first few weeks the answer was no, but now I find myself sitting less and less.

Also, I find that doing squats on a call is contagious. πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
darryl profile image
Darryl Young

I stand the whole time when working but, as I work from home, I regularly walk around my apartment and take small breaks to move around. If I take a break for a coffee, for example, I may go and sit on a sofa or something.

When I first got my standing desk a few years ago I read how you should probably split your days between sitting and standing at first but even after the first few hours standing I didn't want to sit. Needless to say, listen to your body and not to general recommendations. While they may mean well, only you know how things feel.

Collapse
 
hozefaj profile image
Hozefa

For me it depends on the task that I am doing. Lot of day gets spent in responding to emails and documenting. For these tasks I usually stand.

For meetings(video calls) I usually sit down. Its not set in stone, but this way I alternate between sitting and standing.

Collapse
 
tardisgallifrey profile image
Dave

During my last job, several years ago, I did this. At the time, I was a serious runner (half and full marathon). Yet, I was still floored that I could not stand as long as I wanted while working. I was usually good for a half hour before I needed to sit for a bit, or go do another task.

Collapse
 
khrome83 profile image
Zane Milakovic

I for sure don’t hold a schedule. If I have to run after the kids a lot (while they are home with us), I will setup the standup desk. I also try to do it for two hours a day reguardless. Otherwise as a newbie, I am sitting more.

I will say the Vari Desk has been amazing. They sent us a mat as well, and I thought I would hate it. I think it may be one of my favorite things, and possibly why I didn’t use my standing desk at the office. I want to get one for when I go back to the office.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I tried to stand for 10-15 mins every hour or two. I didn't have an antifatigue mat and my knees hurt at times, so some days I did sit more than others.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I bought a relatively inexpensive one off Amazon, amazon.ca/gp/product/B0751N2V2Z. At some point I may invest in a better one.

Here’s my full office setup for those interested.

Collapse
 
hammacktony profile image
Tony Hammack

Any suggestions on good standing desks?

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

I bought mine on craigslist so I don't know what brand it is, but a friend of mine has an autonomous desk and they're happy with it: autonomous.ai/.

I personally think that unless you have shoulder/back issues, no one really needs an automatic one. Cranking the desk up is kind of fun too πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’» • Edited

I built two of these diy models I’ve used for at least 5 years.

stuffandymakes.com/blog/2013/04/09...

I use one at home and take the other to clients when I’m onsite (I do consulting in the morning).

The conversations in the elevator when I bring it in are always a fun ice breaker πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I bought this beast, and I am so happy with my decision.