DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What's on your 2021 reading list?

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

I'm halfway through 3 books:

  • Sapiens, by Yuval Noah Harari
  • The First 90 Days, by Michael D. Watkins (a bit late πŸ˜“)
  • Steal Like an Artist, by Austin Kleon

And in the backlog for 2021 (among others):

  • Keep Going, by Austin Keon
  • Limpieza de Sangre, by Arturo PΓ©rez-Reverte
  • The Pragmatic Programmer, by Andrew Hunt and David Thomas (read part of it before, but will have to start from the beginning again)

That, and a TON of comic books and graphic novels (mainly "Something is killing the children")... but I don't know if those count.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Every book I purchased in 2020 and still haven't read πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

Me included, that's about 14 books

Collapse
 
zwacky profile image
Simon Wicki

Out of curiousity, does this delay your book reading process or is buying books more like a physical reading list?

Thread Thread
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

I actually bought eBooks, of which I think is the reason why I've had a tough time finishing a single one. Its so easy switching to another app when reading, and that is very distracting. I wish I had access to hard copies from my purchases or either a dedicated ereader

Collapse
 
booleanhunter profile image
Ashwin Hariharan

These are on my list, I'm halfway through some of them:

  1. A guide to spirituality without religion, by Sam Harris
  2. The Industries of the Future, by Alec Ross
  3. The Selfish Gene, by Richard Dawkins
  4. Head First Design Patterns
  5. Refactor, by Martin Fowler
Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas BrΓΈmsΓΈ

You got the new (2nd) edition of "Head First Design Patterns" ?

I have the 1st. edition on my bookshelf, considering upgrading it, since it is a book and topic you can always refresh.

If you need more pattern literature, "Design Patterns Explained" is recommendable.

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

I love the Head First series, I don't understand why they're not making new ones.

Collapse
 
booleanhunter profile image
Ashwin Hariharan

Me too!

Collapse
 
napoleon039 profile image
Nihar Raote

I love that series too! I learned Java from only reading Head First Java and practicing the code written in it.

Collapse
 
bradtaniguchi profile image
Brad • Edited

I don't read novels as much as I used to as I find I end up staying up to late and not able to do much more than read. So my list currently consists of a single book:

The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin.

I'm a hard sci-fi guy, and this is one of the "newer" options available that I keep hearing about. Been sitting on it for when I have a large chunk of time to read it. :)

I purposely didn't buy the sequels yet so I have to wait between reading them.

Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas BrΓΈmsΓΈ

Just got this one for Christmas. Only fiction book on my list currently

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

My GoodReads total last year was 146, and while about a third of that was graphic novels, there were a lot of doorstops from Brandon Sanderson, Neal Stephenson, etc, so I'm aiming for shorter reading experiences this year. Top of my list right now is:

  • Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby by Sandi Metz
  • Refactoring by Martin Fowler
  • The Queen: The Forgotten Life Behind an American Myth by Josh Levin
  • Mona Lisa Overdrive by William Gibson
Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas BrΓΈmsΓΈ

Nice list, I really need to consume "Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby" at some point

Collapse
 
andruhovski profile image
Andriy Andruhovski
  • Bland, David and Osterwalder, Alexander. Testing Business Ideas: A Field Guide for Rapid Experimentation.
  • Jason Schreier. Blood, Sweat, and Pixels: The Triumphant, Turbulent Stories Behind How Video Games Are Made
  • Eric Freeman. Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide
Collapse
 
dominicduffin1 profile image
Dominic Duffin

These are some for the first part of 2021:

  • Atomic Habits, by James Clear
  • Your Next Government?, by Tom W Bell
  • Samsung Rising, by Geoffrey Cain
  • Female Monarchs and Merchant Queens in Africa, by Nwando Achebe
  • Habitats, by Constance Rosenblum
Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas BrΓΈmsΓΈ

Have heard a lot about "Atomic Habits", I think I need to check it out

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Good list by @simonholdorf to kick this off πŸ“šπŸ‘

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Thanks for the mention :)

Collapse
 
anibalardid profile image
Anibal

Hi !
I want to learn this year all that i could about security, bug bounty, hacking ...
I began yesterday a course in udemy , and when I finish i will begin to start reading books (that I already have) about it :)

Collapse
 
stephnicoledev profile image
Stephanie S.
  1. Coders: The Making of a New Tribe and the Remaking of the World
    by Clive Thompson

  2. The Creativity Code: How AI Is Learning to Write, Paint and Think

  3. The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

  4. A Promised Land by Barack Obama

Collapse
 
jonasbn profile image
Jonas BrΓΈmsΓΈ • Edited

"Coders: The Making of a New Tribe and the Remaking of the World by Clive Thompson" is on my list too

Collapse
 
sheilagomes profile image
Sheila Gomes

I've just started watching "The Expanse" TV series, and I always try to read the books behind the series I watch, which means I started reading "Leviathan Wakes" by James Corey (and only after discovered it's a collection of many titles, so maybe that'll be it for 2021 :D). But, in case I don't really like it, next on the list are: "The Book of Delights" by Ross Gay, "Nomadland" by Jessica Bruder, "The Tyranny of Merit" by Michael Sandel, "Between the World and me" by Ta-nehisi Coates, "The Refusal of Work" by David Frayne. It's always a growing list, that will probably change very soon, especially after I read all the comments in this discussion!

Collapse
 
dar5hak profile image
Darshak Parikh
  • Free Will by Sam Harris
  • Hackers and Painters by Paul Graham
  • Purple Cow by Seth Godin
  • A World Without Email (unreleased) by Cal Newport
  • My Job Went to India: 52 Ways to Save Your Job (Pragmatic Programmers) by Chad Fowler

(That last one is just for fun. I am Indian. 😜️)

This list is for the first few months of the year. I’ll figure out the rest as I go.

Collapse
 
maureento8888 profile image
Maureen T'O

Currently reading "How to Be An Antiracist" by Ibram X. Kendi and "My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending our Hearts and Bodies" by Resmaa Menakem

But will read:

"The Skin We're In" by Desmond Cole

"A Mind Spread Out On the Ground" by Alicia Elliott

"Moon of the Crusted Snow" by Waubgeshing Rice

"Reset: My Fight for Inclusion and Lasting Change" by Ellen Pao

and lastly, "Together" by Dr. Vivek Murthy!

Collapse
 
gsto profile image
Glenn Stovall

My tech/business specific list as of now:

  • Ask Your Developer by Jeff Lawson
  • Tech Humanist: How You Can Make Technology Better for Business and Better for Humans , Kate O' Neill
  • The Collected Angers, Mike Monterio
Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo