DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small ๐ŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy ๐Ÿ˜„

scooby-spa

Happy Friday!

Top comments (53)

Collapse
 
albertomontalesi profile image
AlbertoM

This

badge

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Woohoo!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

That's amazing โœจ

Good work!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I got this badge which motivated me to write more here:

DEV badge

Also, I wrote feedback for the homepage of DEV which was definitely worked on by suggestions with other wonderful people in this community.

I was mentioned for the first time for feedback in this:

Collapse
 
pp profile image
Paweล‚ Ludwiczak

whoa, congrats!!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Thank you!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

๐ŸŽŠ 4 week streak club

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Yes!!

Collapse
 
crigger profile image
Adam Crigger

figured out the branding / got something up on the internet for my newest side project [fart.bar]

Collapse
 
invot profile image
invot • Edited

Okay, you can't just name a website fart.bar and not say anything else about it :p

Collapse
 
crigger profile image
Adam Crigger

soon

Collapse
 
davidgagne profile image
David Vincent Gagne

I (finally) completed and delivered two proposals to potential clients.
I made a bunch of progress on two other projects currently in development.
And I made time to play golf with my son and take him to Galaxy's Edge (East).

Collapse
 
ffirsching profile image
Felix Firsching

Awww man, so jealous about Galaxy's Edge. How did you like it?

Collapse
 
davidgagne profile image
David Vincent Gagne

It's mind-blowing if you're a Star Wars fan. This was our fifth or sixth time there. We didn't even go on Smuggler's Run (and we still haven't made it on to Rise of the Resistance) but we had a great time.

We went on Star Tours (for the millionth time) and got a completely new version, with lots and lots of Rise of Skywalker clips. Very cool.

Thread Thread
 
ffirsching profile image
Felix Firsching

Man, that even sounds awesome! Experience reports like this really make us poor Europeans question our existence haha. Glad you guys get to enjoy it. This is the way!

Collapse
 
irreverentmike profile image
Mike Bifulco

I launched! Well, I announced the start of something, at least, and I'm really excited for it all.

I put out...a podcast, and a website, and a roadmap, and a blog post explaining it all -

Putting my project out in front of people is an experiment, but I'm hoping it'll garner me some support, and help keep momentum high. ๐Ÿค˜

Collapse
 
downey profile image
Tim Downey

Learned a lot more about Istio, Envoy, and TLS. ๐Ÿคฏ

Specifically, I learned about alpn, how Istio configures Envoy to route based on it, and how it can be set using OpenSSL's s_client. My path ultimately led to this... ๐Ÿ˜‚

echo -e "GET /headers HTTP/1.1\r\nHost: s-07a0552a-e09a-4ac7-a4b7-f036921f99d7.cf-workloads.svc.cluster.local\r\n" | openssl s_client -quiet     -CAfile /etc/certs/root-cert.pem     -cert /etc/certs/cert-chain.pem     -key /etc/certs/key.pem     -servername s-07a0552a-e09a-4ac7-a4b7-f036921f99d7.cf-workloads.svc.cluster.local     -connect s-07a0552a-e09a-4ac7-a4b7-f036921f99d7.cf-workloads.svc.cluster.local:8080 -alpn istio
Collapse
 
rpearce profile image
Robert Pearce • Edited
  1. Gave praise to folks at work
  2. Published a post on map that took me so long to finish.
  3. Fixed an issue with my local nix package manager that has been bothering me for a couple of weeks
Collapse
 
weeb profile image
Patrik Kiss • Edited

Started learning VueJS!
Just in 4 days, I've learned things such as (single file) components, computed and basic methods, watchers, passing data around and between components, and working with them, conditional+list rendering, props etc. And today I have learned the basics of Vue Router :)

VueJS is truly amazing, I'm loving it!

The next big step is to learn working with back-end while using VueJS for front-end

Collapse
 
theianjones profile image
Ian Jones • Edited

I wrote the beginnings of an introduction to clientside web APIs!

Heres the first one :)

dev.to/theianjones/wtf-is-the-dom-...

I would love feedback from anyone that has time to read them. There are 4 posts in the series right now!

Collapse
 
pbouillon profile image
Pierre Bouillon

I made my first post on #showdev for my very first published library MqttTopicBuilder
I'm still learning so many things this is very challenging !
I also registered with a friend for a huge coding challenge and we are pretty hyped !

Collapse
 
zakwillis profile image
zakwillis

Last week, I put up a post dev.to/zakwillis/do-you-know-of-a-...
.
The post was asking if anybody knew of a tool to scan inboxes, encrypt and manage data, and save the results to a database or the like so I could do reporting on it.

In the end, I wrote my own tool in SQL Server, C#, using Mailkit. Planning to release it as a software tool. Took around 3.5 days to get core functionality working.

Collapse
 
pp profile image
Paweล‚ Ludwiczak

We shipped a project I had a pleasure working on and it was one of the first AND the biggest pieces of work I've been involved in here so far :)

Collapse
 
raymag profile image
Carlos Magno

I've just started to learn C. I'm pretty excited about it 'cause it can help me to study other topics later.

Collapse
 
abdellani profile image
Mohamed ABDELLANI

My pull request was merged into dev.to :)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker • Edited

I got a custom scroll bar setup on my personal website waylonwalker.com