DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Knitting a sweater...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

knitting-cat

Happy Friday!

Top comments (60)

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Finally found some time to release the website I've been working on and boost it's traffic a little bit. It's essentially a database of Tech questions with the possibility to make quizzes on multiple topics and use an API to embed the questions on your websites - QuizAPI

It's so good to see the results of your work.

Collapse
 
jknapp25 profile image
Josh • Edited

Just took the HTML quiz, great questions! It was fun too.

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Thanks Josh! Really love the hear that people like it!

Collapse
 
lyubomiramanova profile image
Lyubomira Manova

Congratulations! Good job! πŸ‘

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Thanks! If you have checked the app I feel honered

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Looks great so far πŸ™ŒπŸ‘

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Good to hear! I do have a lot of stuff to improve but everything needs time!

Collapse
 
bunday profile image
Olayinka Zadat O

Great work πŸ”₯. I like this πŸ‘, I'm already thinking of building a small mobile app that throws random questions at users from this πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Oh!! That sounds really cool, If you need any information about the App please let me know, will be happy to provide it.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Awesome, mate! Keep up the good work!

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Thanks, I really try to!

Collapse
 
mikkodc profile image
mikkodc

This is amazing and really fun! I've also been working with the same idea on one project of our company's client and this is very well done.

Collapse
 
dimitrovk profile image
Kalin Dimitrov

Thank you for the great feedback! I hope the App gave you some inspirations for your project!

Collapse
 
brendan8c profile image
Artem

Cool site! I like it )
How did you implement these points and lines that follow the cursor near the header? Wow It is very cool! I want to learn

Collapse
 
chrislarry33 profile image
Chris Lawrence • Edited

Love retros!

Wins:
1) Joining DEV!
2) Helping kick-off the Grant for the Web Hackathon with DEV
3) Foraging for wild ramps
4) Judging youth made games for the Games for Change Student Challenge
5) Making it through the week!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot, that's a busy week! Welcome to DEV, btw! πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
chrislarry33 profile image
Chris Lawrence

Thanks its been fun already and I am excited

Collapse
 
adnanrahic profile image
Adnan Rahić

Finally closed a 2-month-old GitHub issue in an open-source repo I maintain. Such a dopamine hit!

Collapse
 
jasmin profile image
Jasmin Virdi • Edited

Closed an issue that was opened in my open-source repo. πŸ˜„
Also, started brainstorming about the new features that I need to have on my open-source project!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

It was my cats' birthday earlier this week, so my wife & I bought and assembled a kitty tower for them.

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/g2846ngp93p2q1y6epq8.jpg

That's Icarus there, having a moment!

Collapse
 
kirajw profile image
KiraJW • Edited

Your cat looks cute. And the other cat is white? I also have 2 cats, black and white. I sometimes think of Kusturica's film "Black cat white cat" when I look at my cats. I also recently gave them a gift and bought them a big cat house. But to my regret, they prefer a closet and an empty box from the washing machine. I read in a blog about pets that this is normal behavior and cats can take a long time to get used to new things. By the way, do you know any interesting blogs about cats? I like this one petsoid.com/what-is-a-group-of-cat.... There's a lot of interesting information here that I didn't know before.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Icarus

Climbing higher into the sunlight?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha!

Hopefully not too close! says his Daedalus. (Commence the groaning...)

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes
Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I passed my final project review and am now a Flatiron School Software Engineering graduate!

Collapse
 
persimone profile image
Simone

Got font awesome to work on my first portfolio website ever. Obviously the first icon I put on there was the DEV (fa-dev) one to link to my profile!

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I finished migrating a bunch of database stuff, I'm glad that's over :]

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

We had a bug report that 2 (seemingly random) users from all our company users were unable to get past the callback page for one of our internal apps.

Turns out their user group's time sync was off by 2 minutes, causing the tokens to be "created in the future" and invalidate themselves πŸ˜… It was one of the weirder bugs I've ever pieced together!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I completed Google Cloud Platform: Core Infrastructure course on Coursera! I thoroughly enjoyed all the assignments and Qwiklabs and got to know so much about the cloud.

Coursera certificate

Yay!

Celebration dance

Collapse
 
aroup profile image
Aroup Goldar Dhruba • Edited

From this week, I have started documenting my Leetcode solutions for the Leetcode May challenge. Although it is now about the Leetcode May challenge, I am planning to write playbooks with trips and tricks for tackling different types of coding interview questions that are encountered frequently in the FAANG and other medium-sized companies.

This is also my first time blogging in dev.to platform.

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich

I launched my personal website!

My favorite thing about it? The JavaScript bundle for the entire site is smaller than some libraries.

Collapse
 
jayehernandez profile image
Jaye Hernandez

Finally created a README for my open source project after weeks of putting it off πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Getting together with peers from covidtender.org to discuss an organisational structure.